Advanced Search  
A+ A-

Rajya Sabha Official Debates >

The Rajya Sabha (meaning the "Council of States") is the upper house of the Parliament of India. Membership is limited to 250 members, 12 of whom are chosen by the President of India for their expertise in specific fields of art, literature, science, and social services. These members are known as nominated members. The remainder of the body is elected by state and territorial legislatures.

Terms of office are for six years, with one third of the members facing re-election every two years.

The Rajya Sabha meets in continuous session and, unlike the lower house of parliament, the Lok Sabha, is not subject to dissolution. The Rajya Sabha shares legislative powers with the Lok Sabha, except in the area of money bill, where the Lok Sabha has overriding powers. In the case of conflicting legislation, a joint sitting of the two houses is held.

The Rajya Sabha held its first sitting on 13 May 1952.

This Debate portal contains Rajya Sabha Debates from 1st session to 245th session.

         Advanced Search          Search                  Help

Rajya Sabha Official Debates


Contents provided and maintained by Rajya Sabha Secretariat
Site designed and hosted by National Informatics Centre
Parliament Informatics Division
Powered By
This site is best viewed with IE 6.0 at 1024x768 pixel resolution and above
Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy | Copyright Policy | Hyperlinking Policy | Accessibility Statement