# THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI TAPAN SIKDAR) (a) Yes, Sir.

(b) Planning Commission has approved an outlay of Rs. 37995 crores for DoT (now BSNL) and Rs. 5446 crores for MTNL for the Ninth Five Year Plan (1997—2002) with a rider that the outlay is indicative and Annual Plan outlays would be fixed on the basis of actual and realistic availability of resources on year to year basis.

(c) Ninth Five Year Plan does not include state-wise expansion plans. However, the circle wise and not State-wise, expansions plans are drawn on year to year basis based on die outlays approved for annual plans by the Planning Commission and availability of material.

#### **Telephone Connections**

† 840. SHRI BACHANI LEKHRAJ: Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

(a) whether some residents in Delhi and other places in connivance with the employees of Telephone Department manage to get another telephone connection at the same address following disconnection of their first connection on account of the non-payment of telephone bills causing huge losses to the department;

(b) if so, the number of telephone connections installed at the same addresses during the last three years and on what basis second connection has been provided and status of the first bill and whether Government contemplate to order an enquiry into the matter; and

(c) if so, by when and if not, the reasons therefor?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI TAPAN SIKDAR) (a) to (c) The information is being collected and will be laid on the table of the house.

#### Release of Commemorative Stamp in the memory of "Shiv Batalvi"

841. SHRI SWARAJ KAUSHAL: Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

(a) the names of eminent literary figures commemorating whom postage stamps have been issued so far;

<sup>†</sup> Original notice of the question was received in Hindi

<sup>60</sup> 

[28 November, 2000]

RAJYA SABHA

(b) whether Government will consider release of stamp in memory of the eminent Punjabi poet Shiv Batalvi; and

(c) if so, by when?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI TAPAN SIKDAR) (a) A list is given in Statement. (*See* below)

(b) and (c) No proposal for issue of a stamp in memory of the eminent Punjabi poet Shiv Batalvi has been received by the Government.

### Statement

List of Eminent Literary Personalities on whom Commemorative Stamps have been issued

- 1. Kabir
- 2 Tulsidas
- 3. Meera
- 4. Surdas
- 5. Rabindra Nath Tagore
- 6. Mirza Ghalib
- 7. Kalidas
- 8. Subramanyam Bharti
- 9. Tyagaraja
- 10. Gopabandhu Das
- 11. Purandaradasa
- 12. Sarojini Naidu
- 13. Sri Aurbindo Ghosh
- 14. Vidyapali
- 15. Kambar
- 16. Acharya Mahavir Prasad Dwivedi
- 17. Maxim Gorky
- 18. Narsimha Mehta
- 19. Lakshminath Bezbaruah

- 20. Bankim Chandra Chaterjee
- 21. Bhagwan Das
- 22. Maharshi Valmiki
- 23. Sant Namdeo
- 24. Ve-mana
- 25. Bhai Veer Singh
- 26. Kumaran Asan
- 27. Michael Madhusudan Dutt
- 28. Ramesh Chandra Dutt
- 29. Maithili Saran Gupt
- 30. Mir Anees
- 31. Amir Khusrou
- 32. Subhadra Kumari Chauhan
- 33. Bhartendu Harischandra
- 34. Sarat Chandra Chatterjee
- 35. Surya Kant Tripathi 'Nirala'
- 36. Makhanlal Chaturvedi
- 37. Kamla Prasad Guru
- 38. Nanalal Dalpatram Kavi

#### 61

## RAJYA SABHA

- 39. Leo Tolstoy
- 40. Valathore Narayana Menon
- 41. N.M. Joshi
- 42. Uloor Parmeshwar Iyer
- 43. S.M. Jameen Ali
- 44. Helen Adams Keller
- 45. Premchand
- 46. Neelmoni Phukan
- 47. Acharya Vinoba Bhave
- 48. Baba Kanshi Ram
- 49. N.V.Gadgil
- 50. Kaka Saheb Kalekar
- 51. Hakim Ajmal Khan
- 52. T. Ramaswamy Choudhury
- 53. Dr. Hiralal
- 54. Dr. D.V. Gundappa
- 55. Md. Iqbal
- 56. Acharya Shantidev
- 57. KM. Munshi
- 58. Sankaracharya
- 59. Namakkal Kavignar
- 60. Bal Krishna Sharma 'Navin'
- 61. Pt. Sunder Lai Sharma
- 62. Surya Mai Mishran
- 63. Bhakta Kanakadas
- 64. Mahadevi Verma
- 65. Jaishankar Prasad
- 66. Vijay Singh Pathik
- 67. Dr. S.R. Ranganathan
- 68. Fakir Mohan Senapati

- 69. Rahul Sanskrityayan70. Dr. Sampurnanand
- 71. Abai Konunbaev
- 72. Dr. K.V. Puttappa
- 73. D.R. Bendre
- 74. Prof.V.K. Gokak
- 75. Dr. Masti V. Iyengar
- 76. Firaq Gorakhpuri
- 77. Sant Kavi Sundardas
- 78. Hazari Prasad Dwivedi
- 79. Nanak Singh
- 80. V.S. Khandekar
- 81. N.G. Goray
- 82. Bishnu Dey
- 83. Tarashankar Bandopadhyay
- 84. Ashaapurna Devi
- 85. Shivpujan Sahai
- 86. Kalki Krishnamurthy
- 87. Balai Chand Mukhopadhyay
- 88. Kazi Nazrul Islam
- 89. Ramdhari Sinha Dinkar'
- 90. Rambriksh Benipun
- 91. Jhaverehand Kalidas Meghani

62

# (28 November, 2000]