Pakistan. Majority of them might have come through Samjhauta Express. The Government of India are in constant touch with the State Governments and UT Administrations on the subject of tracing out of such Pak nationals and to deport them.

Formation of New States After Independence

2833. S ARDARBALWINDER SINGH BHUNDAR: Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state :

- (a)how many new States were formed after Independence;
- (b)how many States got their new capitals;
- (c) how many States are without any capital.
- (d) what are the reasons for not providing capital to these States; and
- (e) how many States are having joint Capital and the reasons therefor?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI I. D. SWAMI): (a) to (e) The territory of India presently comprises 25 States, besides Union territories. Details in this regard are available in the First Schedule to the Constitution of India.

Only 2 States, *viz.* .Punjab and Haryana, have a common capital at present. Each of the remaining States has its own capital. The question of a separate capital for Haiyana is linked to the larger issue of transfer of Chandigarh to Punjab.

Lawyers Strike

†2834. SHRIMATI SAROJ DUBEY:

SHRI ABANI ROY:

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS is pleased to state:

- (a)whether the lawyers in the Capital are on strike and are continuously demanding suspension of erring police officials responsible for their alleged brutalities;
- (b)if so, whether his Ministry have since taken any action against the erring police officials who lathi charged them;
 - (c) if so, the details thereof; and
 - (d) if not, the reasons therefor?

[†]Original notice of the question was received in Hindi.