THE MINISTER OF WELFARE (SHRI SITARAM KESRI): A statement is attached as Annexure. [See Appendix 175 Annexure No. 66]

## **Expert Committee for Examining Pesticides**

2803. SHRI MOHAN BABU: Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of expert committees appointed in the normal course by Government to examine the negative aspects, if any of new or popular pesticide;
- (b) whether such expert committees are headed by officials;
- (c) whether any outside experts or nominees from industry and universities are included; and

Industrial Toxicology Research Centre,

Mahatma Gandhi Marg,

Lucknow.

(d) the details of such composition and practice?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE (SHRI ARVIND NETAM): (a) The Expert Committees for review of pesticides were appointed in 1984, 1989-and August, 1995.

- (b) These Expert Committees were headed by the retired officials of the Government of India. However, serving' officials can also be appointed to head these Committees.
- (c) The Experts from Universities, leading national institutions and Government Departments are normally included in these Committees.
- (d) The details of composition of the three Expert Committees are given in the statement.

## Statement

Details of Composition of the Three Expert Committees

/.	Committee appointed in 1984	
1.	Dr. S.N. Banerji, Retired Plant Protection Adviser	—Chairman
2.	Dr. K. D. Paharia	—Member
	Plant Protection Adviser to the Government 'of India, NH-IV, Faridabad.	
3.	Prof. Usha K. Luthra,	—Member
	Senior Deputy Director General, Indian Council of Medical Research, Ansari Nagar, New Delhi.	
4.	Dr. K. Krishnamurthy, Joint Commissioner (S & R), Ministry of Food & Civil Supplies, (Department of Food), New Delhi,	—Member
5.	Dr. Giyanendra Nath, Principal Scientific Officer, Deptt. of Science and Technology, Technology Bhavan, New Delhi.	—Member
6.	Dr. T.S.S. Dikshith, Assistant Director,	—Member

201	Written Answers	[22 DEC. 1995]	to Questions 202
7.	Dr. K.N. Mehrotra Professor of Eminence Division of Entomolog Indian Agricultural Re- New Delhi.	y,	—Member
8.	Dr. S.K. Mukherji, Professor of Eminence Division of Agricultura New Delhi.		—Member
9.	Dr. V.P. Gergav, Associate Professor of Jawaharlal Nehru Krisl Vidyalaya, Jabalpur (M	hi Vishwa	—Member
10.	Dr. A.N. Raichoudhari National Institute of Communicable Diseas Shamnath Marg, Delhi	es, 22,	—Member
11.	Dr. S.J. Rahman, Assistant Director (Ent National Institute of Co 22, Shamnath Marg, N	ommunicable Diseases,	—Member
12.	Dr. P.V. Krishna, Adviser (Chemicals), Ministry of Chemicals Shastri Bhavan, New I	*	—Member
13.	Dr. S.R. Dwivedi, Director, National Mal 22, Shamnath Marg, N	aria Eradication Programme, ew Delhi.	—Member
14.		nmittee for Food Standards, Health Services, Nirman	—Member
15.	Dr. B. S. Attri, Senior Environmental Officer Department of Environ Bikaner House, New D	iment,	—Member
16.	Dr. D.N. Srivastava, Assistant Director Gen I.C.A.R., Krishi Bhava		—Member
17.	Dr. A.S. Sirohi, Head of Division of Aş I.A.R.I., New Delhi.	gricultural Economics,	—Member
18.	Dr. D. Kanungo, Medical Toxicologist,	Directorate of	—Member- Secretary
	PPQ & S. NH-IV, Fari		<del></del>

II.	Committee appointed in 1989.	
1.	Dr. S. N. Banerjee, Retired Plant Proctection Adviser	—Chairman
2.	Deputy Director General (CS), Indian Council of Agricultural Research, Krishi Bhavan, New Delhi.	—Member
3.	Plant Protection Adviser to the Govt, of India.	—Member
4.	Dr. S.K. Kashyap, Director, National Institute of Occupational Health, Ahmedabad.	—Member
5.	Dr. C. R. Ramchandran, Director, Indian Council of Medical Research, New Delhi.	—Member
6.	Dr. B. L. Amla, Director, Central Food Technological Research Institute, Mysore.	—Member
7.	Prof. Usha K. Luthra, Indian Council of Medical Research, Ansari Nagar, New Delhi.	—Member
8.	Dr. S.R. Sen Gupta, Director, Haffine Institute for Training Research and Testing, Bombay.	—Member
9.	Dr. K.N. Mehrotra, Professor of Eminence, Division of Entomology, IARI, Pusa Complex, New Delhi.	—Member
10.	Dr. S.K. Mukherji, Professor of Eminence, Division of Agricultural Chemicals, Indian Agricultural Research Institute, New Delhi.	—Member
11.	Dr. V.P. Gergav, Associate Professor of Toxicology, Jawahar Lai Nehru Krishi Vishwa Vidyalaya, Jabalpur (Madhya Pradesh)	—Member
12.	Dr. Zafar Futehally, Chairman, Pesticides Environmental Pollution Committee, 17/1, Victoria Road, Bangalore.	—Member
13.	Dr. H.L. Bami, Consulting Forensic Scientist, Bungalow No. A, Malkagunj, Delhi.	—Member
14.	Dr. T.S.S.S. Dikshith, Assistant Director, Indian Toxicological Research Centre, Mahatma Gandhi Marg, Lucknow.	—Member
15.	Director, National Institute of Communicable Diseases, 22, Shamnath Marg, New Delhi.	—Member
16.	Director, National Malaria Eradication Programme, 22, Shamnath Marg, New Delhi.	—Member

205	Written Answers	[22 DEC.	1995]	to Questions	206	
17.	Secretary, Central Co Dte. General of Healt New Delhi.			—N	1ember	
18.	Adviser, Department (Ministry of Industry)			—N	1ember	
19.	Joint Commissioner ( of Food & Civil Supp of Food), New Delhi.	olies, (Department		—N	Member .	
20.	Dr. Giyanendra Nath, Principal Scientific O Deptt. of Science & T	officer,	Delhi.	—N	1ember	
21.	Dr. B.S. Attn, Senior Environmenta Deptt. of Environmer CGO Complex, Lodh	nt,	ni	—N	Member	
22.	Dr. M.L. Saini, Deputy Director (Bio Directorate of Plant F Faridabad.	assay),		—N	1ember	
III. C	III. Committee appointed in 1995					
1.	Dr. K.V. Raman, Ret National Academy fo Hyderabad & Membe Board, Krishi Anusar	or Agricultural Res er, Agricultural Sc	eientists Recruitment		airman	
2.	Dr. U. Bhale Rao, Head, Division of Ch Indian Institute of Ch Hyderabad.		gy,	—N	Member .	
3.	Dr. C.R. Ramachand Communicable Disea Medical Research, A	ses), Indian Cour	icil of	—N	Member (	
4.	Dr. CD. Mayee, Prof, of Plant Patholo Marathwada Agricult Parbhani-431402.			—N	Member	
5.	Dr. A.K. Raheja, Asstt. Director Gener Council of Agricultur Bhavan, New Delhi.			—N	1ember	
6.	Dr. D.P. Nag, Officer-in-Charge, Regional Occupation Library Building, Ba Medical College, Ban	ngalore		—N	1ember	

7. Dr. N. Sethunathan, -Member Principal Scientist, Central Rice Research Institute, Cuttack. Dr. P.K. Seth, 8. -Member Senior Scientist, Industrial Toxicology Research Centre, Lucknow. 9. Dr. M.L. Saini, -Member Jt. Director (Bioassay) Retd., Dte. of Plant Protection, Quarantine & Storage, Faridabad. Dr. A. Regupathy, 10. -Member Professor and Head, Deptt. of Entomology, Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore-641 003. Dr. R. A. Singh. -Member 11. Professor of Eminence, Deptt. of Plant Pathology, GVPU & T. Pantnagar, Distt. Nainital, UP. Dr. G.S. Randhawa, 12. -Member Professor, Deptt. of Agronomy, Punjab Agricultural University, Ludhiana, Punjab. 13. Dr. D. Kanungo, -Member-Joint Director (Med.), Dte. Secretary of Plant Protection,

Quarantine and Storage, NH-IV, Faridabad. Approved Prices of Drugs

2804. SHRI H. HANUMANTHAPPA: Will the Minister of CHEMICALS AND FERTILIZERS be pleased to state:

- (a) the approved prices of Metronidazole and Chlorpromazine formulations of Rhone Poulanc and when were these prices fixed;
- (b) the Prices being charged by the company and whether it is a fact that these products have been sold by the company at its own prices throughout;
  - (c) since when these cases are within

the knowledge of his Ministry and the reasons for shielding the producer; and

(d) by when Government fixed prices are likely to be implemented in these cases and what - are the other Furazolidone based formulations, prices of which are yet to be fixed?

THE MINISTER OF CHEMICALS AND FERTILIZERS (SHRI RAM LAKHAN SINGH YADAV): (a) to (d) As per the available information, the details of prices of formulations of Metronidazole are as follows: