1

## **RAJYA SABHA**

Thursday, the 11th July, 1996/the 20th Asadha 1918 (Saka)

The House met at eleven of the clock, Mr. Chairman *in the Chair*.

## INTRODUCTION OF THE PRIME MINISTER, THE LEADER OF THE HOUSE AND THE LEADER OF THE OPPOSITION

MR. CHAIRMAN: Honourable Members, I have great pleasure to introduce the Prime Minister, Shri H.D. Deve Gowda.

I would now like, to introduce the Leader of the House, Shri Inder Kumar Gujral.

Shri Dilip Kumar Ray

15.

I should like to introduce Shri Sikander Bakht, the Leader of the Opposition, but he is not here.

SHRI N.K.P. SALVE (Maharashtra): In absentia.

SHRI SATISH AGARWAL (Rajasthan): He is not well.

## INTRODUCTION OF MINISTER BY THE PRIME MINISTER

MR. CHAIRMAN: I request the Prime Minister to introduce his Council of Ministers.

THE PRIME MINISTER (SHRI H.D. DEVE GOWDA): Mr. Chairman, Sir, I introduce to you and, through you, to the House, my colleagues:

- Minister of State of the Ministry of Food

Processing Industries

	Cabinet Ministers:	
1.	Shri Beni Prasad Verma	- Minister of Communications
2.	Shri Chaturanan Mishra	- Minister of Agriculture
3.	Shri Devendra Prasad Yadav	<ul> <li>Minister of Food and Minister of Civil Supplies, Consumer Attairs and Public Distribution</li> </ul>
4.	Shri Indrajit Gupta	- Minister of Home Affairs
5.	Shri Janeshwar Mishra	- Minister of Water Resources
6.	Shri Mulayam Singh Yadav	- Minister of Defence
7.	Shri Murasoli Maran	- Minister of Industry
8.	Shri P. Chidambaram	— Minister of Finance and Minister of Company Affairs
9.	Shri R.L. Jalappa	- Minister of Textiles
10.	Shri S.R. Bommai	- Minister of State Human Resource Development
11.	Shri Srikanta Jena	- Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Minister of Tourism
12.	Shri T.G. Venkatraman	-Minister of Surface Transport
13.	Shri K. Yerram Naidu	- Minister of Rural Areas and Employment
Ministers of State (Independent Charge)		
14.	Shri Bolla Buli Ramaiah	— Minister of State of the Ministry of Commerce