# [Dr. Narreddy Thulasi Reddy]

work to a Swiss multinational company. Whereas, in paragraph 5, he has said that they have not, so far, even come to the stage of indicating their charges for the services offered. The Minister says: Thus, there is no decision or commitment to use their services'. This clearly shows that there is some idea to hand over the appraisement work to the Swiss multinational company.

The Minister has also said that the IMF and the World Bank have nothing to do with this. In the same paragraph. he says: 'The SGS staler! that they were prompted by the measures industrial 'liberalisation for introduced by the Government'. Who is responsible for industrial liberalisation? Everybody knows that it is the IMF and the World Bank who are responsible for industrial liberalisation measures of the Government. Therefore, indirectly, he has admitted that there is pressure, there is influence, by the IMF and the World Bank, on this issue.

Therefore, Sir, this Government is mortgaging our economic sovereignty to a foreign country. But without economic sovereignty, there is no question of political sovereignty. My suggestion is, if the Government has not taken any decision so far, please, for heaven's sake, for God's sake, don't take it. If the decision has already been taken, please withdraw the decision. For this, I want the Minister to give a categorical assurance *in* the House. Thank you.

# MESSAGES FROM THE LOK SABHA

- (1) The Constitution (Seventy-second Amendment) Bill, 1991.
- (2) The Constitution (Seventy-third Amendment) Bill, 1991.
- (3) The Monopolies and Restrictive Trade Practices (Amendment) Bill, 1991.

SECRETARY-GENERAL: Sir, I beg to report to the House the following messages received from the Lok Sabha, signed by the Secretary-General of th Lok Sabha:

(1)

- "I am directed to inform you tha Lok Sabha, at its sitting held on Friday, the 20th December, 1991. adopted the enclosed motion in regard to the Constitution (Seventy-second Amendment) Bill, 1991.
- I am to request that the concurrence of Rajya Sabha in the said motion, and also the Barnes of the members of Rajya Sabha appointed to the Joint Committee, may be communicated lo this Hoiise."

### MOTION

"That the Bill further to amend the Constitution of India viz, the Constitution (Seventy-second Amendment) Bill, 1991 (Insertion of a Jew part IX and addition of Eleventh Schedule) be referred to a Joint Committee of the Houses consisting of 30 members, 20 from this House namely:—

- (1) Shri Mani Shankar Aiyar
- (2) Shri Lai Jan S. M. Basha
- C3) Shri H. D. Devegowda
- (4) Shri Digvijay a Singh
- (5) Shri Bhogendra Jha <6)
- Shri D'. D. Khanoria
- (7) Shri M. Krishnaswamy
- (8) Shri Nathuram Mirdha
- (9) Shri Nitish Kumar (10)
- Shri Rameshwar Patidar
- (11) Smt. Suryakanfa Patil
- (12) Shri R. Ramasamy
- 113) Dr- Sudhir Ray

(14) Dr. Sakshiji Maharaj Swami (15)

Shri P. M. Sayeed (16) Shri Rampal

Singh (17) Shri Satya Deo Singh

- (18) Shri Shiv Sharan Sinha
- (19) Prof. K. V. Thomas
- (20) Shri Mukul Balkrishna Wasnik and 10 from Rajya Sabha;

that in order to constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of members of the Joint Committee:

that the Committee shall make a report to this House by the last day of the first week of the Budget Session. 1992;

that in other respects the Rules of Procedure of the House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply with such variations and modification<sup>^</sup> as the Speaker may make; and

that this House do recommend to Rajya Sabha that Rajya Sabha do join the said Joint Committee and communicate to this House the names of 10 members to be appointed by Rajya Sabha to the Joint Committee."

- "I am directed to inform you that Lok Sabha, at its sitting held on Friday, the 20th December, 1991, adopted the enclosed motion in regard to the Constitution (Seventy-third Amendment) Bill, 1991.
- I am to request that the concurrence of Rajya Sabha in the said motion. and also the names of the members of Rajya Sabha appointed to the Joint Committee, may be communicated to this House.

#### MOTION

'That the Bill further tc amend the Constitution of India viz. the Constitution (Seventy-third Amendment) Bill. 1991 (Insertion of new part IXA and addition of Twelfth .Schedule) be referred to a Joint Committee of the Houses consisting of 30 members, 20 from this House, namely:—

- (1) Shri Pawan Kumar Bansal
- (2) Shri Chitta Basu
- (3) Shri Girdhari Lai Bhargava (4)
- Prof. Malini Bhattacharya
- (5) Shri Probin Deka
- (6) Shri K. P. Singh Deo
- (7) Prof. Ashokrao Anandrao Deshmukh

- (8) Shri Dau Daya! Joshi
- (9) Shri Shankarrao D. Kale
- (10) Shri Tarachand Khandelwal
- (11) Kum. Padmasree Kudumula
- (12) Smt. Sumitra Mahajan
- (13) Shri Suraj Mandal
- (14) Shri Yelliah Nandi
- (15) Dr, Debi Prosad Pal
- (16) Shri Hari Kewai Prasad
- (17) Shri Ebrahim Suiaiman Sait
- (18) Kum. Selja
- (19) Shri Bari Kishore Singh
- (20) Shri P. C. Thomas and
- 10 from Rajya Sabha;

that in order *to* constitute a sitting of the Joint Committee the quorum shall be one-third of the total number of members of the Joint Committee;

that the Committee shall make a report to this House, by the last day of the first week of the Budget Session, 1992;

that in other respects the Rules of Procedure of this House relating to Parliamentary Committees shall apply with such variations and modifications as the Speaker may make; and

that this House do recommend to Rajya Sabha \*-hat Rajya Sabha do join the said Joint Committee and communicate to this House the names of 10 members to be appointed by Rajya Sabha to the Joint Committee."

### (3)

"In accordance with the provisions of rule 96 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in Lok Sabha, I am directed to enclose the Monopolies and restrictive Trade Practices (Amendment) Bill 1991, as passed by Lok Sabha, at its sitting held on the 20th December, 1991.

Sir, I lay a copy of the Monopolies and Restrictive Trade Practices (Amendment) Bill. 1995. on the Table of the House.