## RAJYA SABHA

## Passport offices in Tamil Nadu

- 3084. SHRI S. ANBALAGAN: Will the Minister of EXTERNALAFFAIRS be pleased to state:
- (a) the details of the existing passport offices and collection centres in the State of Tamil Nadu;
- (b) the number of passport applications received and the number of passport issued during each of the last three years by passport offices in the State;
- (c) whether there is any demand to open more passport offices in the State particularly from Salem, N'amakkal and Dharmapuri districts; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof including the proposal of Government to open passport offices in the State?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS (SHRI E. AHAMMED): (a) There are two Passport Offices in Tamil Nadu, one at Chennai and another at Trichy. There are also 30 District Passport Cells, which collect and process passport applications. These details are given in the Statement (See Below).

(b) The number of passport applications received and the number of passports issued during last three years are given below:

Passport	Number of Passport Applications	Number of Passports received	ed
Office	issued		
	2004 2005 2006	2004	2005 2006
Chennai	230529 237561 291916 222368	216367 212143	300503 220429
Trichy	225403 279713	261803	303684

(c) and (d) Government have decided to open two rTK)re passport offices in Tamil Nadu, namely at Coimbatore and Madura! as early as possible.

## RAJYA SABHA

Statement

## List of District Passport Cells in Tamil Nadu

SI.No.	Passport Office	District Passport Cell	
1.	Chennai	Coimbatore	
2.	Chennai	Nltgiris	
3.	Chennai	Cuddalore	
4.	Chennai	Thiruvallur	
5.	Chennai	Vellore	
6.	Chennai	Erode	
7.	Chennai	Villupuram	
8.	Chennai	Salem	
9.	Chennai	Namakkai	
10.	Chennai	Kancheepuram	
11.	Chennai	Tiruvannamaiai	
12.	Chennai	Chennai-Annanagar	
13.	Chennai	Dharmapuri	
14.	Chennai	Chennai-Adyar	
15.	Chennai	Krishnagiri	
16.	Trichy	Sivagangai	
17.	Trichy	Thanjavur	
18.	Trichy	Nagappatinam	
19.	Trichy	Thiruvarur	
20.	Trichy	Thoothukudi	
21.	Trichy	Tirunelveli	
22.	Trichy	Viruthunagar	
23.	Trichy	Pudukkottai	
24.	Trichy	Perambalur	
25.	Trichy	Thindugal	
26.	Trichy	Ramanathapuram	
27.	Trichy	Theni	
28.	Trichy	Karur	
29.	Trichy	Madurai	
30.	Trichy	Kanyakumari .I	