### THE

## PARLIAMENTARY DEBATES

#### OFFICIAL REPORT

# IN THE HUNDRED AND THIRTY-NINTH SESSION OF THE [RAJYA SABHA

Commencing on the llth July, 1986/26//i Asadha, 1908 (Saka)

### **RAJYA SABHA**

Thursday, the llth July, 1986/ 26th Asadha, 1908 (Saka)

The House met at eleven of the clock, Mr. Chairman in the Chair.

### MEMBERS SWORN

- 1. Shri S. S. Ahtawalia (Bihar)
- 2. Shri Ashwani Kumar (Bihar)
- 3. Shri Lakshmi KantJha (Bihar)
- 4. Shri Mahendra Prashad (Bihar)
- 5. Shrimati Manorama Pandey (Bihar)
- 6. Prof. Chandresh P. Thakur (Bihar)
- 7. Shri Ajit P.K. Jogi (Madhya Pradesh)
- 8. Shri Sat ish Kumar (Madhya Pradesh)
- 9. Kumari Sayeeda Khatun (Madhya Pradesh)
- 10. Shri Sitrendra Singh Thakur (Madhya Pradesh)
- 11. Shri AtfU Bihari Vajpayee (Madhya Pradesh)
- 12. Shrimati Veena Verma (Madhya Pradesh)

- 13. Dr. (Shrimati) Najma Heptutiilla (Maharashtra)
- 14. Shri A. G Kulkarni (Maharashtra)
- 15. Shri Pra mod Mahajan (Maharashtra)
- 16. Shri Bhaskar Annaji Masodkar f? (Maharashtra)
- 17. Shrimati Suryakama Jayawantrao Patil (Maharashtra)
- 18. ShriNanshkumar Chunnalaljj Pugalia (Maharashtra)
- 19. Shri Jagadish Jani (Orissa)
- 20. Shri Basudev Mohapi (Orissa)
- 21. Kumari Sushila Tiria (Orissa)
- 22. Sardar Jagjit Singh Aurora (Punjab)
- 23. ShriHarvendraSinghHanspat (Punjab)
- 24- Shri Dhuleshwar Meena (Rajasthan)
- 25. Shri B.L- Panwar (Rajasthan) \_
- 26. Shri Santosh Kumar (Rajasthan)
- 27. Shri T. R. Ba hi (Tamil Nadu)
- 28. Shri R.T. Gopalan (Tamil Nadu)
- 29. Shrimati Jayanthi Nalarajan (Tamil Nadu)

30. Shri M. Palaniyandi (Tamil Nadu)

**Obituary** 

- 31. Shri G. Swaminathan (Tamil Nadu)
- 32. Shri M. Vincent (Tamil Nadu)
- 33. Shri Ajit Singh (Uttar Pradesh)
- 34. Chowdhary Ram Sewak (Uttar Pradesh)
- 35. Shri Satya Pal Malik (Uttar Pradesh)
- 36. Shri Rasheed Masood (Uttar Pradesh)
- 37. Dr. Ratnakar Pandey (Uttar Pradesh)
- 38. Shri Kalpnath Rai (Uttar Pradesh)
- 39. Dr. Rudra Pratap Singh (Uttar Pradesh)
- 40. Shri Narayan Datt Tiwari (Uttar Pradesh)
- 41. Shri Bekal Utsahi (Uttar Pradesh)
- 42. Shri Kapil Verma (Uttar Pradesh)
- 43. Shri Ashok Nath Verma (Uttar Pradesh)
- 44. Shri Sharad Yadav (Uttar Pradesh)
- 45. Shrimati Ela Ramesh Bhatt (Nominated)
- 46. Shri R.K. Narayan (Nominated)

SECRETARY-GENERAL am calling Hon. Members who have not taken their oaths:

- 1. Shri Ram Awadesh Singh (Bihar)
- 2. Shri Jaswant Singh (Rajasthan)
- 3. Shri M.F. Husain (Nominated)
- 4. Pt. Rabi Shankar (Nominated)

CHAIRMAN: Hon. Members, just now the newly elected and nominated Members have taken their oath and their seats in the House I would like to extend to all of thema most cordial welcome.

References

Some of you are veterans who had long experience in both the Houses and no word of advice is needed for them from the Chair.

So far as the newly elected Members are concerned, I would like to remind them that they have been elected to one of the highest forums in the country and that they should rise to the occasion and discharge their duties not only to the best of their ability but also in a manner that will redound to their credit. Now, there are Constitutional provisions; there are Rules of the House; there are also various conventions and also certain unwritten rules of etiquette. All these, you will learn very soon and very quickly when you see other Members observing them. I am sure you will have a very fruitful and a very useful membership in the House and contribute your best to the country and to the respective parties from which you have come. With these words, I would again welcome these Members and now proceed to the next item.

### **OBITUARY REFERENCES**

MR. **CHAIRMAN** Members, it is my melancholic duty to refer to the passing away of one of our great national leaders, Babu Jagjiwan Ram, in New Delhi on the 6th of July, 1986. I think the House would like to express to their tributes to the great leader and I would, therefore, call upon the Leader of the House to start.