Government has set up Press Council of India (PCI), a statutory autonomous body under the Press Council Act, 1978, for the purpose of preserving the freedom of Press and news agencies in India. The Press Council deliberates on the complaints received either from the press or against the press.

Doordarshan Kendras

1125. SHRI NATUJI HALAJI THAKOR: Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of very low and high power Doordarshan Kendras (DDKs) set up in the country alongwith their transmission capacity, State-wise and location-wise;
 - (b) whether the transmission capacity of the said DDKs has not been enhanced, so far;
- (c) if so, the details thereof and the reasons therefor, State-wise and location-wise including Mehsana, Surat, Bharuch, Amreli and Rajkot; and
- (d) the steps being taken by Government to upgrade the transmission capacity of DDKs in the country?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING (DR. S. JAGATHRAKSHAKAN): (a) There are, at present, 1416 transmitters of varying power in Doordarshan network. State-wise locations of these transmitters are given at Annexure. [See Appendix 219 Annexure No. 12].

- (b) and (c) State-wise locations of the transmitters (including those in Gujarat), transmission capacity of which has been enhanced in the past are given in Statement (see below). As part of the continuing schemes from 10th Plan, projects of upgradation LPTs at Mehboobnagar (Andhra Pradesh) & Bilaspur (Chhatisgarh) to HPTs have also been approved.
- (d) The areas uncovered by terrestrial transmission, along with rest of the country, have been provided with multichannel TV coverage through Doordarshan's free-to-air DTH services "DD Direct Plus". New transmitters for expansion of terrestrial coverage are, now, not envisaged.

Statement

Details of TV Transmitters upgraded

State/ UT	LPTs upgraded to HPTs	VLPTs upgraded to HPTs	VLPTs upgraded to LPTs
1	2	3	4
Andhra Pradesh	Anantapur Kurnool		Vishakhapatanam
	Nandyal Rajamundry		

1	2	3	4
	Tirupati Vishakhapatanam Warangal Hyderabad (DD News) Vishakhapatanam (DD News)		
Arunachal Pradesh	Itanagar		Miao
	Itanagar (DD News)		
Assam	Dibrugarh Guwahati Silchar Kokrajhar Guwahati (DD News) Silchar (DD News)		Haflong
Bihar	Patna Saharasa Patna (DD News)		
Chhattisgarh	Ambikapur Jagdalpur		
Goa	Panaji (DD News)		
Gujarat	Bhuj Dwarka Radhanpur Surat Vadodara Ahmedabad (DD News) Vadodara (DD News)		Devgadh Baria
Harvana	Hissar Hissar(DD News)		
Himachal Pradesh	Dharamshala Shimla Shimla (DD News)		
Jammu & Kashmir	Jammu Leh Kathua Jammu (DD News) Srinagar (DD News) Kupwara (Kashir) Srinagar (Kashir)	Kupwara Gurez Tithwal	Rajouri Poonch Udhampur

1	2	3	4
Jharkhand	Jamshedpur		
Karnataka	Dharwad Mangalore Hassan Mysore Raichur Bangalore (DD News) Dharwad (DD News) Mysore (DD News)		
Kerala	Cochin Trivandrum Calicut Calicut (DD News) Trivandrum (DD News) Cochin (DD News) Cannanore (Interim)		
Madhya Pradesh	Bhopal Gwalior Indore Jabalpur Shahdol		
	Guna		
	Sagar		
	Chhatarpur		
	Bhopal (DDnews)		
Maharashtra	Aurangabad		Badlapur
	Chandrapur		
	Jalgaon		
	Nagpur (DD News) Ratnagiri Ambajogai (DD News)		
Manipur	Imphal Imphal (DD News)	Churachandpur	
Meghalaya	Shillong Tura Tura (DD News) Shillong (DD News)		
Mizoram	Aizawl Alzawl (DD News)	Lunglei	
Nagaland	Kohima Kohima (DD News)		

1	2 3	4
Orissa	Bhawanipatna Baleshwar Berhampur Sambalpur (DD News)	Bonai Pallahara Patnagarh
Punjab	Bhatinda Fazilka Jalandhar (DD News)	
Rajasthan	Bikaner	
	Bundi	
	Jodhpur	
	Jaipur (DD News)	
	Ajmer	
	Ajmer (DD News)	
Sikkim	Gangtok Gangtok (DD News)	
Tamilnadu	Rameshwaram Kumbakonam	Udumalpet Udhagamandalam
	Dharmapuri Tirunelveli	
Tripura	Agartala Agartala (DD News)	
Uttar Pradesh	Agra Banda Bareilly Faizabad	
	Mau	
	Lakhimpur Lucknow (DD News) Kanpur (DD News)	
	Bareilly (DD News)	
Uttaranchal		Haldwani
West Bengal	Balurghat Kharagpur Krishnanagar Shantiniketan Murshidabad (DD News)	Baghmandi Jhalda
A.& N Islands	Port Blair Port Blair (DD News)	
Dadra & Nagar Haveli		Silvassa
Daman & Diu		Diu
Lakshadweep		Kavaratti
Pudducherry	Pudducherry	Karaikal