RAJYA SABHA

[17 August, 2000]

Zero Industry Districts in Orissa

† 2359. SHRI MAN MOHAN SAMAL: Will the Minister of COMMERCE AND INDUSTRY be pleased to state:

(a) the number of "Zero Industry Districts" in Orissa at present;

(b) whether Government are taking any effective steps to set up industries;

- (c) if so, the names of the districts selected for this; and
- (d) if not, Government's proposal in this regard?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COMMERCE AND INDUSTRY (DR. RAMAN): (a) to (d) With the introduction of the new Growth Centre Scheme in 1988, the old 'No Industry District' Scheme of 1983 was discontinued.

Under the new Scheme, growth centres are planned to be developed in backward areas in the country which would be endowed with the basic infrastructure so as to attract industries to these areas. The Central Government provides Rs. 10 crore per growth centre by way of equity. The balance funds are to be raised by the State Government who is responsible to implement the project. All the four growth centres' allotted for Orissa have been sanctioned at Chhatrapur (district Ganjam), Kalinganagar-Duburi (district Cuttack), Tharsuguda (district Jharsuguda) and Kcsinga (district Kalahandi) and these are under implementation.

264

[†] Original notice of the question was received in Hindi.