RAJYA SABHA

Proposals of Madhya Pradesh

†538. MISS ANUSUIYA UIKEY: Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

(a) the number of proposals of the Madhya Pradesh Government pending with his Ministry;

(b) the reasons for which these proposals are not being considered; and

(c) the number of districts of Madhya Pradesh still deprived of railway lines?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI R. VELU): (a) and (b) The proposal of third line between Bina and Bhopal has been processed for obtaining requisite clearances. Field survey of Bhopal-Itarsi section has been completed.

(c) District-wise information of railway lines is not maintained.

Electrification of rail line in Saurashtra

539. SHRI VIJAY KUMAR RUPANI: Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

(a) whether Government are aware that people of Saurashtra in Gujarat have to spend lot of time and have to face many other difficulties due to non-electrification of railway track;

(b) whether Government have planned for electrification of railway line from Veraval-Somnath to Ahmedabad and from Porbandar to Ahmedabad;

(c) if so, whether any survey in this regard has been initiated;

(d) if so, the details thereof; and

(e) if not, the reasons therefor?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI R. VELU):

(a) Yes, Sir.

(b) No, Sir.

(c) and (d) Do not arise.

[†]Originai notice of Question was received in Hindi.

246

[28 July, 2006]

(e) Electrification of various sections is taken up in priority of traffic density of the route. Veraval-Somnath to Ahmedabad & from Porbandar to Ahmedabad will be taken up for electrification as and when it becomes due.

Railway zones

540. SHRI RAMDAS AGARWAL: Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

(a) the details of the existing Railway zones functioning in the country, as on date;

(b) whether there has been persistent demand from various quarters for creation of new Railway zones;

(c) if so, the details thereof; and

(d) the reaction of his Ministry thereto?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI R. VELU): (a) There are sixteen Railway zones functioning on Indian Railways which are as under:—

Railway

Central Railway Eastern Railway Northern Railway North-Eastern Railway Northeast Frontier Railway Southern Railway South-Central Railway South-Eastern Railway Western Railway North-Central Railway North-Western Railway East-Central Railway South-East Central Railway South-Western Railway East Coast Railway West-Central Railway

(b) Yes, Sir.

Headquarter Mumbai Kolkata New Delhi Gorakhpur Maligaon, Guwahati Chennai Secunderabad Kolkata Mumbai Allahabad Jaipur Hajipur Bilaspur Hubli Bhubaneswar Jabalpur

247