(b) to (d) Running of 229/230 Raipur-Visakhapatnam Passenger has been restored upto Durg with effect from 20-07-2000 due to public demand.

Length of M.G. Rail Lines

- 2922. SHRI KRIPAL PARMAR: Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:
 - (a) the total length of metre gauge rail line at present in the country;
- (b) the names of places in the country where metre gauge lines are existing, giving the State-wise details thereof;
- (c) whether Government plan to convert metre gauge lines into broad gauge under a time bound plan;
 - (d) if so, the State-wise details thereof; and
- (e) the total gauge lines converted into broad gauge during the last three years?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI DIGVIJAY SINGH): (a) The total length (route kilometres) of metre gauge railway lines in the country at present is 15,178 kms. (latest available figure as on 31.3.1999).

(b) to (e) All the States except Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir and Punjab arc having Metre Gauge lines. Metre Gauge lines are being converted into Broad Gauge in a phased manner. The stale-wise details of on-going conversion works as well as the projects completed during the last three years are given below:

State-wise details of ongoing gauge conversion works:

Andhra Pradesh

- 1. Mudkhed-Adilabad (partly in Maharashtra)
- 2. Secunderabad-Mudkhed with Jankampet-Bodan (partly in Maharashtra)
- 3. Dharmavaram-Pakala
- 4. Kaipadi-Pakala-Tirupati
- 5. Guniur-Guntakal & Guntakal-Kalluru

[18 August, 2000]

RAJYA SABHA

Assam & NE Region

- 1. New Jalpaiguri-New Bongaigaon with linked fingers.
- 2. Lumding-Silchar
- 3. Katakhal-Bhairabi

Bihar

- 1. Katihar-Jogbani including Katihar-Radhikapur (partly in West Bengal)
- 2. Ranchi-Lohardaga and extension upto Tori
- 3. Samastipur-Khagaria
- 4. Kaptanganj-Thawe-Siwan-Chhapra (partly in Uttar Pradesh)
- 5. Jaynagar-Darbhanga-Narkatiaganj
- 6. Mansi-Saharsa (Ph.I)

Delhi

1. Delhi-Rewari (2nd line) (partly in Haryana)

Gujarai

- 1. Gandhidham-Bhuj
- 2. Gandhidham-Palanpur
- 3. Darangdhara-Kuda
- 4. Surendernagar—Bhavnagar-Dhola with extension upto Pipavav
- 5. Rajkot-Veraval
- 6. Wankaner-Maliya Miyana and Navlakhi-Dahinsara
- 7. Viramgam-Mehsana
- 8. Mehsana-Patan-Bhildi
- 9. Bhildi-Samdari

Haryana

- 1. Delhi-Rewari (2nd line) (partly in Delhi)
- 2. Rewari-Sadulpur (partly in Rajasthan)

Karnataka

1. Hassan-Mangalore

- 2. Solapur-Gadag
- 3. Mysore-Chamrajnagar
- 4. Hospet-Guntakal
- Shimoga-Talguppa (part of Bangalore-Hubli Gauge Conversion project)

Kerala

1. Quilon Tenkasi-Virudhunagar-Tiruchendur (partly in Tamil Nadu)

Madhya Pradesh

- 1. Jabalpur-Gondia with Balaghat-Katangi
- 2. Nimach Ratlam

Maharashtra

- 1. Miraj-Latur
- 2. Puma- Akola
- 3. Mudkhed-Adilabad (partly in Andhra Pradesh)
- 4. Secunderabad-Mudkhed with Jankampet-Bodan (partly in Andhra Pradesh)

Orissa

- 1. Rupsa-Bangriposi
- 2. Naupada-Gunupur

Rajasthan

- 1. Agra-Bandikui (partly in Uttar Pradesh)
- 2. Ajiner-Chittaurgarh-Udaipur
- 3. Luni-Samdari-Munaboo
- 4. Samdari-Bhildi
- 5. Rewari-Sadulpur (partly in Haryana)
- 6. Sarupsar-Sri Ganganagar
- 7. Pipar Road-Bilara (Delhi-ADI Gauge Conversion project)

Tamil Nadu

1. Villupuram-Pondiehcrry

[18 August, 2000] RAJYA SABHA

- 2. Villupuram-Thanjavur (main line)
- 3. Salem-Cuddalore
- 4. Madurai-Rameswaram
- 5. Quilon-Tenkasi-Virudhunagar (partly in Kerala)
- 6. Trichy-Manamadurai
- 7. Trichy-Nagore-Karaikal
- 8. Katpadi-Villupuram

Uttar Pradesh

- 1. Agra Fort-Bandikui (partly in Rajasthan)
- 2. Mathura-Achhnera
- 3. Kanpur-Kasganj-Mathura & Kasganj-Bareilly
- 4. Gonda-Gorakhpur Loop
- 5. Kaptanganj-Thawe-Sivan-Chhapra (partly in Bihar)
- 6. Gonda-Bahraich

West Bengal

- 1. Bankura-Rainagar (BDR Line)
- 2. Katihar-Jogbani including Katihar-Radhikapur (partly in Bihar)
- 3. New Jalpaiguri-New Bongaigaon

Details of gauge conversion completed during the last three years i.e. 1997-98 to 1999-2000:

| | | 70 10 1777 2000. | | | |
|------------------------|-------|----------------------------|-------|--------------------------------|-----|
| 1997-98 | KM | 1998-99 | KMS | 1999-2000 | KMS |
| Completed | | Completed | | Completed | |
| Sections | | Sections | | Sections | |
| Hassan-Sakleshpur | 42 | Narkatiaganj- Gorakhpur | 159 | Kashipur-Lalkuan | 60 |
| Mysore- Holenarsipi | ur 87 | Tambaram-Trichy | 303 | Arakkonam- Chengalpattu | 63 |
| Bachwara-Hajipur | 72 | Trichy-Dindigul | 93 | Yelahanka- Yeshwantpur | 17 |
| Tirchy-Tanjavur | 50 | Babupet-Ballarsha | h 1 1 | Morbi to Maliya- Miyana and | |
| | | | | | |

| 1997-98 | KM | 1998-99 | KM | 1999-2000 | KMS |
|------------------|-----|-----------------|----|-------------------|-----|
| Completed | | Completed | | Completed | |
| Sections | | Sections | | Sections | |
| Jodhpur-Marwar | 102 | Shoalpur-Hotgi | 15 | Dahisara-Navlakhi | 68 |
| Hotgi-Bijapur | 97 | Mariani-Jorhat | 18 | | |
| Jorhat-Furkating | 67 | Shivsagar- | 39 | | |
| Shimalguri- | 16 | Indara-Phephana | 55 | | |
| Dronachellam- | | | | | |
| Mehboobnagar | 185 | | | | |

Train Stoppage in Adilabad District of A.P.

2923. DR. DASARI NARAYANA RAO: Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state the action taken to accede to the request of the Andhra Pradesh Government for halting of trains at certain places in Adilabad district under South-Central Railway like Navajeevan Express at Sirpur Kagaznagar, G.T. Exp. at BeUampalli etc.?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI DIGVIJAY SINGH): Stoppage of 6031/6032 Chennai-Jammu Tawi Andaman Express at Rechni Road from 1.12.99 and that of 6045/6046 Ahmedabad-Chennai Navjeevan Express at Sirpur Kagaznagar from 1.3.2000 have been provided. Stoppage of 2615/2616 G.T. Express at Bellampalli has been examined but not found feasible at present.

Setting up of a Railway Station at Krishnanagar

- 2924. DR. Y. LAKSHMI PRASAD: Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:
- (a) whether requests have been received for setting up of a railway station near Krishnanagar village on the Kothagudem Manuguru railway line for the convenience of pilgrims visiting Bhadrachelam temple town; and
 - (b) if so, the action taken thereon?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI DIGVIJAY SINGH): (a) Yes, Sir.

(b) Krishnanagar village is located at a distance of 6 Kms from Pandurangapuram Railway station on Bhadrachalam-Manuguru section. This