RAJYA SABHA

[22 August, 2000]

S.No.	Name of District	No. of viL	ages without
			post office
8.	Vizianagaram		89V
9.	Adilabad		1271
10.	Karimnagar		416
11.	Mahabubnagar		732
12.	Medak		708
13.	Nalgonda		460
14.	Nizamabad		471
15.	Warangal		382
16.	Hyderabad		65
17.	Rangareddy		731
18.	Krishna		287
19.	Guntur		5
20.	Khammam		672
21.	Nellore		476
22.	Prakasam		472
23.	West Godavari		207
	TOTAL:		15196

Provision of PCOs in Uttar Pradesh

† 3133. PROF. R.B.S. VARMA: Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

(a) The district-wise number of PCOs currently functioning in Uttar Pradesh;

(b) the norms adopted for installing a PCO;

(c) whether any target has been fixed by Government to install PCOs in Uttar Pradesh during the year 2000-2001; and

(d) if so, the deetails thereof?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI TAPAN SIKADAR): (a) Sir, the telecom district-wise information is given in the Statement enclosed (*See* below)

(b) PCOs are allotted liberally to all the eligible

[†] Orginal notice of the quesmn was received in Hindi.

⁷⁴

[22 August, 2000]

unemployed persons, who ever volunteer, on first come first served basis.

(c) Yes, Sir.

(d) 15,000 PCOs have been targeted to be installed in Uttar Pradesh during 2000-2001.

SI.	Name of the	Number of STD/	
No.	Telecom District	ISD PCOS	
		functioning	
1.	Allahabad	3296	
2	Azamgarh	1619	
3.	Baharaich	630	
4.	Ballia	1091	
5.	Banda	491	
6.	Barabanki	746	
7.	Basti	1016	
8.	Etawah	721	
9.	Faizabad	1099	
10.	Farrukhabad	796	
11.	Fatehpur	321	
12.	Ghaziapur	868	
13.	Gonda	739	
14.	Gorakhpur	1898	
15.	Hamirpur	324	

Statement

RAJYA SABHA

[22 August, 2000]

SI.	Name of the	Number of STD/	
No.	Telecom District	ISD PCOS	
		functioning	
16.	Hardoi	305	
17.	Jaunpur	909	
18.	Jhansi	1524	
19.	Kanpur	5411	
20.	Lakhimpur	615	
21.	Lucknow	5633	
22.	Mainpuri	498	
23.	Mau	1485	
24.	Mirzapur	875	
25.	Orai	411	
26.	Pratapgafh	546	
27.	Raibareli	611	
28.	Shahjahanpur	624	
29.	Sitapur	528	
30.	Sultanpur	990	
31.	Unnao	477	
32.	Varanasi	2878	
33.	Agra	2955	
34.	Aligarh	1963	
35.	Almora	718	
36.	Badaun	433	
37.	Bareilly	1089	
38.	Bijnorc	1121	

76

[22 August, 2000]		RAJYA SABHA	
SI.	Name of the	Number of STD/	
No.	Telecom District	ISD PCOS	
		functioning	
39.	Dehradun	1608	
40.	Etah	445	
41.	Ghaziabad	3763	
42.	Mathura	1192	
43.	Meerut	3080	
44.	Moradabad	1199	
45.	Muzaffarnagar	1712	
46.	Nainital	875	
47.	Pilibhit	175	
48.	Rampur	392	
49.	Saharanpur	1799	
50.	Srinagar Gwl.	631	
51.	Uttarkashi	312	

Keonjhar District in Orissa at Telecom District

† 3134. SHRI MAN MOHAN SAMAL: Will the Minister of COMMUNICATIONS be pleased to state:

(d) The details of work being undertaken by Government to make the district of Keonjhar in Orissa as a telecom district;

- (a) what progress has been made in this regard; and
- (b) by when the same is likely to be completed?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS (SHRI TAPAN SIKDAR): (a) to (c) Keonjhar is a Revenue District and is part of Dhenkanal Telecom District (SSA) which is headed by Senior Administrative Grade Officer. Each Telecom District or SSA is a basic unit of operation for the purpose of administration, charging, routing and numbering plans As per the existing policy, SSAs are not being bifurcated

77

[†] Original notice of the question was received in Hindi.