12.00 NOON

MOTIONS FOR ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIRMAN

THE LEADER OF THE HOUSE (DR. MANMOHAN SINGH): Sir, I move the following Motion:

"That Shri K. Rahman Khan be chosen as the Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha."

THE LEADER OF THE OPPOSITION (SHRI JASWANT SINGH): Sir, I second the Motion.

SHRIMATI SUSHMA SWARAJ (Madhya Pradesh): Sir, I move the following Motion:

"That Shri K. Rahman Khan be chosen as the Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha."

DR. KARAN SINGH (NCT of Delhi): Sir, I second the Motion.

श्री शरद यादव (बिहार) : महोदय, मैं निम्नलिखित प्रस्ताव उपस्थित करता हूं कि .

"श्री के. रहमान खान को राज्य सभा का उपसभापति चुन जाए।"

श्री दिग्विजय सिंह (झारखंड) : मैं प्रस्ताव का समर्थन करता हूं।

श्री एस0 एस0 अहलुवालिया (झारखंड) : महोदय, मैं निम्नलिखित प्रस्ताव उपस्थित करता हूं कि :-

"श्री के. रहमान खान को राज्य सभा का उपसभापति चुना जाए।"

SHRI V. NARAYANASAMY (Pondicherry): Sir, I second the Motion.

प्रो0 राम देव भंडारी (बिहार): महोदय, मैं निम्नलिखित प्रस्ताव उपस्थित करता हूं कि:-

"श्री के. रहमान खान को राज्य सभा का उपसभापति चुना जाए।"

श्री मंगनी लाल मंडल (बिहार): मैं प्रस्ताव का समर्थन करता हूं।

कुमारी मायावती (उत्तर प्रदेश) : महोदय, मैं निम्नलिखित प्रस्ताव उपस्थित करती हूं :-

"श्री के. रहमान खान को राज्य सभा का उपसभापति चुना जाए।"

श्री गांधी आजाद (उत्तर प्रदेश) : मैं प्रस्ताव का समर्थन करता हूं।

श्री जनेश्वर मिश्र (उत्तर प्रदेश) : महोदय, मैं निम्नलिखित प्रस्ताव उपस्थित करता हूं:-

"श्री के. रहमान खान को राज्य सभा का उपसभापति चुना जाए।

RAJYA SABHA [12 May, 2006]

MR. CHAIRMAN : Shri Amar Singh to second the motion; not present.

श्री तारिक अनवर (महाराष्ट्र) : महोदय, मैं निम्नलिखित प्रस्ताव उपस्थित करता हूं:-

"श्री के. रहमान खान को राज्य सभा का उपसभापति चुना जाए।"

SHRI ROBERT KHARSHIING (Meghalaya): Sir, I second the Motion.

SHRI SITARAM YECHURY (West Bengal): Sir, I move the following Motion:

"That Shri K. Rahman Khan be chosen as the Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha."

SHRI PENUMALLI MADHU (Andhra Pradesh): Sir, I second the Motion.

SHRI RAVULA CHANDRA SEKAR REDDY (Andhra Pradesh): Sir, I move the following Motion:

"That Shri K. Rahman Khan be chosen as the Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha."

SHRI MULE VENKATA MYSURA REDDY (Andhra Pradesh): Sir, I, second the Motion.

SHRI MANOHAR GAJANAN JOSHI (Maharashtra): Sir, I move the following Motion:

"That Shri K. Rahman Khan be chosen as the Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha."

SHRI SANJAY RAUT (Maharashtra): Sir, I second the Motion.

SHRI PYARIMOHAN MOHAPATRA (Orissa): Sir, I move the following Motion:

"That Shri K. Rahman Khan be chosen as the Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha."

MS. PRAMILA BOHIDAR (Orissa): Sir, I second the Motion.

SHRI SHYAM BENEGAL (Nominated): Sir, I move the following Motion:

"That Shri K. Rahman Khan be chosen as the Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha."

MR. CHAIRMAN : Shri Bashistha Narain Singh to second the motion; not present. Shri Lalit Suri, not present.

DR. P.C. ALEXANDER (Maharashtra): Sir, I move the following Motion:

"That Shri K. Rahman Khan be chosen as the Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha."

SHRI HARENDRA SINGH MALIK (Haryana): Sir, I second the Motion.

DR. K. KASTURIRANGAN (Nominated): Sir, I move the following Motion:

"That Shri K. Rahman Khan be chosen as the Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha."

श्री राम नारायण साहू (उत्तर प्रदेश) : मैं प्रस्ताव का समर्थन करता हूं।

MR.CHAIRMAN: Shri Abdul Wahab Peevee, not present.

श्री तरलोचन सिंह (हरियाणा) : महोदय, मैं निम्नलिखित प्रस्ताव उपस्थित करता हूं:-

"श्री के . रहमान खान को राज्य सभा का उपसभापति चुना जाए।"

श्री सुरेश भारद्वाज (हिमाचल प्रदेश) : मैं प्रस्ताव का समर्थन करता हूं।

MR. CHAIRMAN: I shall first put the Motion, moved by Dr. Manmohan Singh, and duly seconded by Shri Jaswant Singh, to vote. The question is:

"That Shri K. Rahman Khan be chosen as the Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha."

The motion was adopted.

MR. CHAIRMAN: I declare that Shri K. Rahman Khan has been chosen as the Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha.

Shri K. Rahman Khan may, now, be conducted to his seat by the Leader of the House and the Leader of the Opposition.