## **BOOKSTALLS AT RAILWAY STATIONS**

- 226. SHRI K. C. BAGHEL: Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:
- (a) the uptodate number of book vendors on various stations of the Indian Railways;
- (b) the number of stations allotted to each book company and the number of years since each of these companies are holding bookstall contracts at various stations;
- (c) the number of stations where special arrangements have been provided for the sale of 'Sarvodaya' literature;
- (d) the number of stations where arrangements have been made for the sale of books by Co-operative Societies; and
- (e) whether Government's attention has been drawn to the fact that the Companies like A.H. Wheeler,

Higginbothonis and Gulab Singh etc. surrender their contracts to then.- sub-agents and theieoy earn a fixed profit at Stations like Bhopal, Itarsi, Nagpur etc?

THE DEPUTY MINISTER IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI SHAM NATH): (a) Sixty-six.

- (b) A statement is attached.
- (c) Five managed by Akhil Bharat Sarva Seva Sangh and Jalgaon District Sarva Seva Samiti. All other bookstall contractors also have instructions to sell 'Sarvodaya' literature.
  - (d) One.
- (e) No such complaint has been received. In terms of the agreements entered into with the bookstall contractors, sub-letting of the contracts is strictly prohibited, and where sub-letting is proved, the contracts are to b\* terminated.

STATEMENT

Bookstalls at Railway Stations

S. No.	Name of bookstall contractors				Number of stations Since when the at which contractors are bookstalls are held	
1	M/s. A.H. Wheeler & Co. (P) Ltd	d.			311	27 to 70 years.
2	M/s. Higginbothams (P) Ltd				62	Not readily available.
3	M/s. Swadesamitran Ltd	1065			23	Over 30 years.
4	M/s. Gulab Singh & Sons Ltd.	104			18	Not readily available.
5	The Gita Press .	2040		9	5	2 to 3 years.
6	Akhil Bharat Sarva Seva Sangh			90	3	I to 2 years.
7	Jalgaon District Sarva Seva Sam	iti .		0.00	2	I year.
8	M/s. Mathruhumi Agencies .				4	1 to 9 years.
9	M/s. Saraswathi Book Depot .	1		194	3	5 to 8 years.
10	Shri B.S. Kulkarni .				3	4 to 8 years.
11	Shri L. Seshadri .			- 29	.2	2 to 9 years.
12	Shri Jagannath Joshi .				3	Over 12 years.
13	Shri Bhogilal Tanna			2	2	8 years.
14	Shri A.H. Pandya .	1.0			3	7 years.
15	M/s. K.M. Agarwal & Sons .				2	7 years.
16	M/s. R.N. Shukla & Sons .				2	
17 to		*		ä	1 each	Not readily available

Note—The contracts for running bookstalls are generally awarded for a period of 5 years at a time and renewal thereof for a further period is considered by the Railway Administrations concerned on the basis of satisfactory service.