1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9
6.	Nagaland	0	0	0	0	14	40	54
7	Sikkim	0	0	0	0	0	14	14
8	Tripura	0	0	0	0	13	59	72
_	TOTAL	0	0	120	798	1522	4246	6686

### Incentives to private companies in power distribution

1985. SHRI A. ELAVARASAN: Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:

- (a) whether Government has formulated a plan to provide financial incentives for engaging private companies in power distribution to attract private sector participation in power distribution;
  - (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the idea to provide financial support to distribution companies is on the line of viability gap funding (VGF) scheme available in other infrastructure sectors; and
  - (d) if so, the details thereof?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF POWER (SHRI K.C. VENUGOPAL): (a) and (b) No, Sir. However, to develop a framework, for enabling Private Participation in Power Distribution of electricity, a Task Force has been constituted by Planning Commission on 09 November, 2010 under the chairmanship of Shri B.K. Chaturvedi, Member, Planning Commission. Composition and terms of reference of the Task Force are given in Statement (See below).

(c) and (d) Do not arise in view of reply to (a) & (b) above.

#### Statement

Composition and terms of reference of the Task Force on Private Participation in the Power

Distribution Sector

# Chairman

(i) Shri B.K. Chaturvedi, Member, Planning Commission

# Members

- (ii) Shri Ashok Chawla, Finance Secretary, Ministry of Finance
- (iii) Shri P. Uma Shankar, Secretary, Ministry of Power
- (iv) Smt. Sushma Nath, Secretary, Department of Expenditure

- (v) Shri Gurdial Singh, Chairman, Central Electricity Authority
- (vi) Dr. J. M. Phatak, CMD, Rural Electrification Corporation
- (vii) Shri Satnam Singh, CMD, Power Finance Corporation
- (viii) Shri Rajiv Lall, MD, IDFC
- (ix)-(x) Two State Chief Secretaries: to be co-opted by the Task Force
- (xi)-(xii) Two State Power Secretaries: to be co-opted by the Task Force
- (xiii)-(xv) Three Discom Chiefs: to be co-opted by the Task Force
- (xvi)-(xvii) Two State Regulators/former State Regulators to be co-opted by the Task Force

## Member Convener

(xviii) Shri Gajendra Haldea, Advisor to Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission

### Terms of references of the task force:

- (i) The Task Force will review the experience relating to privatization, franchisees and other forms of private participation;
- (ii) The Task Force will make an assessment of the investment required during the Twelfth Plan period for augmentation and modernization of the distribution system;
- (iii) The Task Force will identify any regulatory impediments constraining private investment in the distribution system and make specific recommendations to facilitate their removal; and
- (iv) The Task Force will consider various models of privatization and recommend a suitable model(s) for adoption by the States.

#### Lower Subansiri Hydroelectric Project

1986. SHRI KUMAR DEEPAK DAS: Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:

- (a) whether any Memorandum of Understanding is being signed by NHPC with Government of Assam in connection with the Lower Subansiri Hydroelectric Project;
  - (b) the present status of the project; and
- (c) whether Government has taken any decision as per the suggestion made by eight member Expert Group of State which studied the impacts of the project?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF POWER (SHRI K.C. VENUGOPAL): (a) Memorandum of Agreement (MoA) has already been signed by NHPC with Government of Arunachal Pradesh. MoA is required to be signed by NHPC also with Government of Assam as