RAJYA SABHA

National Institute of Technology

*380. SHRI GIREESH KUMAR SANGHI: Will the Minister of HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

(a) the number of National Institute of Technology (NITs) in the country, State-wise;

(b) whether Government would set up new NIT in Andhra Pradesh;

(C) the responsibilities of NITs; and

(d) whether Government would reset the activities of NITs?

THE MINISTER OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (SHRI ARJUN SINGH): (a) There are 18 National Institutes of Technology (NITs) in the country located at Allahabad (Uttar Pradesh), Bhopal (Madhya Pradesh), Calicut (Kerala), Durgapur (West Bengal), Hamirpur (Himachal Pradesh), Jaipur (Rajasthan), Jalandhar (Punjab), Jamshedpur (Jharkhand), Kurukshetra (Haryana), Nagpur (Maharashtra), Patna (Bihar), Rourkela (Orissa), Silchar (Assam), Srinagar (Jammu & Kashmir), Surat (Gujarat), Surathkal (Karnataka), Tiruchirappalli (Tamil Nadu) & Warangal (Andhra Pradesh).

(b) At present, there is no proposal under consideration of Government of India to set up a new NIT in Andhra Pradesh.

- (c) The major responsibilities of NITs include,
 - (i) To provide instructions and research in different branches of Engineering and Technology.
 - (ii) To hold examinations and grant degrees.
 - (iii) To establish, maintain and manage buildings and other infrastructural facilities.
 - (iv) To co-operate with educational and other Institutions in any part of the world.
 - (v) To provide placement facilities for students.

(d) After taking over of National Institutes of Technology (NITs) by the Government of India, steps have been taken to strengthen the activities and infrastructural facilities like filling up of faculty positions, increase in intake of students, upgradation/modernization of labo ratories, hostels, libraries by providing 100% Central assistance.