An Hon. MEMBER: See the dictionary.

Nominations

SHRI P. SUNDARAYYA: We krvw -the dictionary meaning.

MR. CHAIRMAN: Order, order.

SHRI P. SUNDARAYYA: Why use word "deserters" when speaking of the grievances of the refugees? That is the first point. Secondly, the whole -of this official statement and the way in which this problem is being tackled is typically bureaucratic and .....

MR. CHAIRMAN: That is discussion. » You want to know what exactly is the meaning of word "deserter", a word which is generally used in a military context. Why are you using it in this particular context?

SHRI A. P. JAIN: When a person settled in a camp leaves the camp and .goes' away, we call him a deserter.

SHRI H. P. SAKSENA (Uttar Praxlesh): The words "deserters" and "displaced persons" both begin with the letter "d". Why not use the word displaced persons"?

## DOMINATIONS TO THE PANEL OF VICE-CHAIRMEN

MR. CHAIRMAN: Under sub-rule (1) •of rule 7 of the Rules of Procedure ar.d Conduct of Business in the Council of rStates, I nominate the following Members to the Panel of Vice-Chairmen:

- 1. Shri K. S. Hegde
- 2. Shri V. K. Dhage
- 3. Shri R. C. Gupta
- 4. Shrimati Parvathi Krishnan

## NOMINATIONS TO THE COMMITTEE ON PETITIONS

MR. CHAIRMAN: Under sub-rule (11 •of rule 110 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Council •of States, I nominate the following Members to be members of the Com-imittee on Petitions:

- 1. Shri J. R. Kapoor
- 2. Dr. Shrimati Seeta Parmanand

to Committees

- 3. Capt. A. P. Singh
- 4. Khan Abdur Rezzak
- 5. Shri P. C. Bhanj Deo

Under sub-rule (1) of rule 111 of the said Rules, I appoint Shri J. R. Kapocr to be the Chairman of the Committee.

## NOMINATIONS TO THE COMMITTEE OF PRIVILEGES

MR. CHAIRMAN: Under sub-rule (1) of rule 168 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Council of States, I nominate the following Members to be members of the Committee of Privileges:

- 1. Shri C. C. Biswas
- 2. Shri V. S. Sarwate
- 3. Shri K. P. Madhavan Nair
- 4. Shri Akhtar Husain
- Diwan Chaman Lall
- 6. Dr. B. R. Ambedkar
- 7. Shri B. C. Ghose
- 8. Shri B. Gupta.
- 9. Shri S. Mahanty
- 10. Shri Amolakh Chand.

Under sub-rule (1) of rule 169 of (he said Rules, I appoint Shri C. C. Biswas to be the Chairman of the Committee.

## NOMINATIONS TO THE RULES COM-MITTEE

MR. CHAIRMAN: Under sub-rule (1) of rule 183 of the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in the Council of States, I hereby nominate the following Members to be members of the Rules Committee:

- 1. Shri S. V. Krishnamoorthy Rao
- 2. Shri C. C. Biswas
- 3. Shri Lai Bahadur
- 4. Shri B. K. Mukerjee