THE PARLIAMENTARY DEBATES

OFFICIAL REPORT

IN THE FIRST SESSION OF THE COUNCIL OF STATES commencing on the

13th May 1952

COUNCIL OF STATES

Tuesday, 13th May 1952

The Council met at a quarter to eleven of the clock, MR. CHAIRMAN in the Chair.

PRESIDENT'S ORDER

SECRETARY: Hon. Members, the following Order has been made by the President:

"I, Rajendra Prasad, President of India, hereby appoint Dr. S. Radhakrishnan and Shri S. V. Krishna Moorthy Rao to be the persons, before either of whom members of the Council of States may make and subscribe the oath or affirmation in accordance with the provisions oftrticle 99 of the Constitution of India.

RAJENDRA PRASAD,

The llth May 1952.

President"

OBSERVANCE OF PRAYERFUL SILENCE

MR. CHAIRMAN: In accordance with the usual procedure on such occasions, may I request you to stand for two minutes and observe silence?

(Hon. Members accordingly stood in silence for two minutes).

MEMBERS SWORN

MR. CHAIRMAN: We are allassem. bled here for the purpose of taking the oath or making the affirmation, a; the case may be. Before I relate the procedure laid down, may I extenc to you all a hearty welcome and express the hope that by our activities we will further the speedy and all-round progress of our people?

1 c. S. Deb.

The procedure is laid down in the notices issued to you. The Secretary will read out the names. He may mispronounce them sometimes but you will not take objection to it. When the name of a Member is called by the Secretary, he will come from his seat to the right side of the Secretary's Table where a copy of the form of oath or affirmation will be handed to him. The Member will face the Chairman while making the oath or affirmation and will then, after shaking hands with him, pass behind the Chair to the other side of the Table where he will sign the Roll of Members. After signing the Roll he will return to his seat. Make the oath or affirmation on the right side and sign the roll on the left side before resuming your seat. The Secretary will now call out the names.

Shri N. Gopalaswami Ayyangar (Madras) (Minister for Defence). Shri S. V. Kris"hna Moorthy Rao (Mysore).

ASSAM

Dr. S. K. Bhuyan. Shri Lakshesvar Borooah. Shrimati Pushpalata Das. Shri Mahammad Roufique. Maulana M. Tayyebulla. Shri R. Thanhlira.

BIHAR

Shri R. G. Agarwala. Kazi Ahmad Hussain. Shrimati Angelina Tiga. Shri Jafar Imam. Khwaja Inait Ullah. Syed Mazhar Imam. Shri Kailash Bihari Lall;