628

Ethiopia. Resistance is being incorporated in Indian cultivars by using Ug99 resistant sources.

A strict vigil is being kept on stem rust race Ug99 through survey and surveillance programme of All India Coordinated Wheat and Barley Improvement Programme.

Several Indian varieties carry resistance to Ug99 and many of them are in the seed chain.

With a view to prevent entry of any exotic pest or disease in India, strict plant quarantine measures are adopted by Government of India under the Destruction Insects and Pests Act, 1914 and Plant Quarantine (Regulation of Import to India) Order 2003.

Krishi Vigyan Kendras

 $\dagger 176.$ SHRI MAHENDRA SINGH MAHRA: Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether there are districts in the country where Krishi Vigyan Kendras (KVKs) have not yet been opened;
- (b) if so, the details of such districts where Krishi Vigyan Kendras have not been opened so far;
 - (c) whether these Kendras are not needed in those districts; and
- (d) if not, the reasons for the delay in opening Krishi Vigyan Kendras there?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE (SHRI TARIQ ANWAR): (a) and (b) Yes, Sir. There are 26 districts in the country where Krishi Vigyan Kendras (KVKs) have not been opened yet. The details of these districts are given in the Statement (*See* below).

- (c) No, Sir.
- (d) Non receipt of proposals, lack of competent host organizations and unavailability of suitable land are the major reasons for the delay in opening KVKs in the remaining districts.

Statement

State/Union Territory-wise list of 27 districts, where new KVKs are proposed to be set up

SI. No.	State/Union Territory	KVK to be established in newly created District	KVK in the Districts approved in Tenth and Eleventh Plan to be established during Twelfth Plan	Total
1.	Arunachal Pradesh	-	Dibang Valley, Kurung Kumey	2
2.	Assam	Baska, Chirang	North Cachar, Morigaon	4
3.	Dadra and Nagar Haveli	-	Silvasa	1
4.	Daman and Diu	-	Daman, Diu	2
5.	Haryana	Mewat	Panchkula	2
6.	Jammu and Kashmir	Reasai, Samba, Ramban, Kishtwar	-	4
7.	Jharkhand	Ramgarh, Khunti		2
8.	Madhya Pradesh	-	Anuppur	1
9.	Meghalaya		South Garo Hills, East Garo Hills	2
10.	Nagaland	Peren, Kaiphire	-	2
11.	Puducherry	-	Mahe	1
12.	Uttar Pradesh	-	Shravasti, Jyotiba Phule Nagar	2
13.	West Bengal	-	East Midnapor	1
	Total:			26