PANEL OF VICE-CHAIRMEN

MR. CHAIRMAN: Hon. Members, I have to inform that the Panel of Vice-Chairmen has been reconstituted with effect from 23rd October, 2017, with the following Members:-

- 1. Dr. Satyanarayan Jatiya;
- 2. Shri Tiruchi Siva;
- 3. Shri T. K. Rangarajan;
- Shri Bhubaneswar Kalita;
- Shri Basawaraj Patil; and
- Shri Sukhendu Sekhar Ray.

RESIGNATION BY MEMBERS

MR. CHAIRMAN: I have also to inform Members that I had received letters, dated 1st September, 2017 and 11th October, 2017, from the following Members, Shri Manohar Parrikar and Shri Mukul Roy, representing the States of Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal, respectively resigning their seats in the Rajya Sabha. I had accepted their resignations with effect from 2nd September, 2017 and 11th October, 2017, respectively. This is for your information.

DISQUALIFICATION OF MEMBERS ON GROUND OF DEFECTION

MR. CHAIRMAN: Hon. Members, I have to make the following announcement:-

"Shri Ram Chandra Prasad Singh, Member and Leader of the JD(U) in Rajya Sabha, the Petitioner, had filed two separate Petitions on 2nd September, 2017 under paragraph 6 of the Tenth Schedule to the Constitution of India read with Rule 6 of the Members of Rajya Sabha (Disqualification on Ground of Defection) Rules, 1985, praying that Shri Sharad Yadav and Shri Ali Anwar Ansari, Members of the Rajya Sabha (Respondents) be disqualified under the Tenth Schedule to the Constitution for voluntarily giving up the membership of the party, JD(U), on whose tickets they were elected to the Rajya Sabha, by indulging in anti-party activities by publicly denouncing and openly criticising the collective decisions of the JD(U) and the Party President.

Both the Petitions were duly examined in accordance with the provisions of the Members of Rajya Sabha (Disqualification on Ground of Defection) Rules, 1985, the procedural requirements laid down therein, and precedents.