Inclusion of petroleum products under GST

- *19. SHRI C.M. RAMESH: Will the Minister of FINANCE be pleased to state:
- (a) whether it is a fact that LPG, kerosene, naptha, furnace oil and tight diesel oil attract GST but five other petroleum products such as crude oil, high speed diesel, motor spirit (petrol), natural gas and aviation turbine fuel lie outside the tax regime;
- (b) if so, the reasons therefor and by when these products will come under GST; and
- (c) whether at any point of time, the matter of inclusion of these petroleum products has been discussed in the GST council meetings, if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor?

THE MINISTER OF FINANCE (SHRI PIYUSH GOYAL): (a) Yes Sir. LPG, kerosene, naptha, furnace oil and light diesel oil attract GST. Five petroleum products, namely, Crude oil, high speed diesel, motor spirit (petrol), natural gas and aviation turbine fuel are outside the ambit of GST.

(b) and (c) As per Article 279 A (5) of the Constitution, the Goods and Service Tax Council shall recommend the date on which the goods and services tax be levied on petroleum crude, high speed diesel, motor spirit (commonly known as petrol), natural gas and aviation turbine fuel (ATF). So far, the GST Council has not made any recommendation for inclusion of petroleum products under GST. The Council may consider the issue of inclusion of five petroleum products at a time it considers appropriate keeping in view all the relevant factors including revenue implication.

Rural and tribal areas covered under Saubhagya scheme

- *20. KUMARI SELJA: Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:
- (a) whether Government is on track to fulfil its promise to achieve universal household electrification by 31st March, 2019;
- (b) the number of families in rural and tribal areas that have been provided electricity till 31st December, 2018;
- (c) the number of households which have not yet been electrified in the State of Haryana till 31st December, 2018; and
- (d) the details of funds allocated and released to each State under the Saubhagya scheme till 31st December, 2018?