536 Special [RAJYA SABHA] Mentions

MR. DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Shri Rewati Raman Singh, not present; Shri Motilal Vora, not present; Shri P.L. Punia, not present; Shri Ram Shakal, not present; Ch. Sukhram Singh Yadav, not present. Dr. D.P. Vats, please.

Demand to adopt a Common Devanagari script for all regional languages in the country

DR. D.P. VATS (Haryana): Sir, I would like to raise an important issue through this Special Mention. Sir, India is a large and diverse nation with many commonalities which bind the nation. There are 26 Indian regional languages, most of which are derived from Sanskrit, but have evolved into different scripts. The spoken languages are akin to each other and most of the people can understand those. Such linguistic complexity poses serious barriers for effective communication across the country. Use of a single language across the country would be a laudable goal but is obviously hampered by in surmountable difficulties. A similar goal would be achieved with a unified script, which can spread knowledge in all Indian languages.

The Indian languages have so much in common that, if a great deal of time had not been wasted in mastering the different scripts, we should all have known several languages without much difficulty. In South India, if there is no link language, then it becomes very difficult even to understand the road signs. The same problem is faced by South Indians when they move outside their native State. Therefore, through this August House I would like to request the Government of India that for the benefit of all languages, there is a need to make a provision to adopt a common script, or to move from one's mother script to one's grandmother's script, that is Devanagari because it will increase its reach and ensure that it doesn't die out like a lot of other languages did because of lack of understandability.

MR. DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: Shri Prashanta Nanda. Not present. Shri Sanjay Seth. Not present. Dr. Kirodi Lal Meena. Not present. Dr. Sanjay Sinh. Not present. Shir Rajmani Patel. Not present. Dr. T. Subbarami Reddy. Not present. Shri Sanjay Raut. Not present.

The House stands adjourned till 11.00 a.m. on Monday, the 15th July, 2019.

The House then adjourned at forty-six minutes past five of the clock till eleven of the clock on Monday, the 15th July, 2019.