## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 1822 TO BE ANSWERED ON AUGUST 04, 2021

#### METROPOLITAN REGIONAL DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITIES/COMMITTEES

#### NO. 1822. DR. VINAY P. SAHASRABUDDHE:

Will the Minister of HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) what is the official definition for the delineation of metropolitan areas/regions in the country;
- (b) whether the Ministry has made any attempts to revisit the definition, if so, details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor;
- (c) how many Metropolitan Regional Development Authorities/Committees are functional in the country at present in accordance with 74<sup>th</sup> Constitutional Amendment Act; and
- (d) whether the Ministry has prepared any implementation status assessment against the 74<sup>th</sup> Constitutional Amendment Act, if so, the State-wise details thereof and if not, reasons therefor?

#### ANSWER

### THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOUSING AND URBAN AFFAIRS (SHRI KAUSHAL KISHORE)

- (a) Article 243P(c) of Constitution of India defines, 'Metropolitan area'as 'an area having a population of ten lakhs or more comprised in one or more districts and consisting of two or more Municipalities or Panchayats or other contiguous areas, specified by the Governor by public notification to be a Metropolitan area.
- (b) No, Sir.
- (c) As per Article 243ZE of Constitution of India, the State Legislature is empowered to make provisions for composition of Metropolitan Planning Committees in every metropolitan area to prepare a draft Development Plan for the Metropolitan area as a whole. The information relating to the number of Metropolitan Committees is available with the respective State Governments.
- (d) Ministry has got the implementation status assessed through National Institute of Urban Affairs (NIUA) in 2014. It is available on Annexure.

\*\*\*\*

176

# Annexure referred in reply to part (d) of the Unstarred Question No. 1822 for reply on 04.08.2021 on Metropolitan Regional Development Authorities/Committees

| Status of Implementation of the 74 <sup>th</sup> | <b>Constitution Amendment Act</b> | (Under JNNURM) |
|--|-----------------------------------|----------------|
|--|-----------------------------------|----------------|

| State          | Constitution of<br>ULBs and<br>Election                            | Transfer of<br>Functions under<br>12 <sup>th</sup> Schedule | Constitution of DPC | Constitution of MPC  |  |
|----------------|--|---|---------------------|--|--|
| Andhra Pradesh | Yes  | No  | Yes                 | No   |  |
| Arunachal      | Yes  | No  | Yes                 | Not Applicable   |  |
| Pradesh        |  |   |                     | The second secon |  |
| Assam          | Yes  | No  | Yes                 | Not Applicable   |  |
| Bihar          | Yes  | No  | Yes                 | No   |  |
| Chandigarh     | Yes  | No  | Yes                 | Yes  |  |
| Chhattisgarh   | Yes  | Yes   | Yes                 | Not Applicable   |  |
| Delhi          | As per Cabinet Committee on Infrastructure : GNCTD is exempted for |   |                     |  |  |
|                | implementation of these reforms (Ref.CCI Note December 2009)       |   |                     |  |  |
| Goa            | Yes  | No  | Yes                 | Not Applicable   |  |
| Gujarat        | Yes  | Yes   | Yes                 | No   |  |
| Haryana        | Yes  | No  | Yes                 | No   |  |
| Himachal       | Yes  | Yes   | Yes                 | Not Applicable   |  |
| Pradesh        |  |   |                     |  |  |
| Jammu and      | Yes  | Yes   | Yes                 | Not Applicable   |  |
| Kashmir        |  |   |                     |  |  |
| Jharkhand      | Yes  | Yes   | Yes                 | Yes  |  |
| Karnataka      | Yes  | Yes   | Yes                 | Yes  |  |
| Kerala         | Yes  | Yes   | Yes                 | Yes  |  |
| Madhya         | Yes  | Yes   | Yes                 | No   |  |
| Pradesh        |  |   |                     |  |  |
| Maharashtra    | Yes  | Yes   | Yes                 | Yes  |  |
| Manipur        | Yes  | No  | Yes                 | Not Applicable   |  |
| Meghalaya      | Yes  | No  | Yes                 | Not Applicable   |  |
| Mizoram        | Yes  | No  | Yes                 | Not Applicable   |  |
| Nagaland       | Yes  | No  | Yes                 | Not Applicable   |  |
| Orissa         | Yes  | Yes   | Yes                 | Not Applicable   |  |
| Punjab         | Yes  | Yes   | Yes                 | Yes  |  |
| Puducherry     | Yes  | Yes   | Yes                 | Not Applicable   |  |
| Rajasthan      | Yes  | No  | Yes                 | Yes  |  |
| Sikkim         | Yes  | No  | Yes                 | Not Applicable   |  |
| Tamil Nadu     | Yes  | Yes   | Yes                 | Yes  |  |
| Tripura        | Yes  | No  | Yes                 | Not Applicable   |  |
| Uttar Pradesh  | Yes  | No  | Yes                 | No   |  |
| Uttrakhand     | Yes  | No  | Yes                 | Not Applicable   |  |
| West Bengal    | Yes  | Yes   | Yes                 | Yes  |  |