GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF CIVIL AVIATION RAJYA SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. : 803 (TO BE ANSWERED ON THE 25th July 2022)

NIGHT LANDING FACILITY AT AIRPORTS

803. SHRI DHANANJAY BHIMRAO MAHADIK

Will the Minister of CIVIL AVIATION be pleased to state:-

(a) whether many airports in the country lack night landing facility and if so, the details thereof and the reasons therefor;

(b) the details of airports where there is no night landing facility, Statewise;

(c) whether Government has decided to upgrade technology to provide night landing facility to all airports in the country, if so, by when these will be upgraded; and

(d) the status of commissioning of night landing facility at Kolhapur Airport?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF CIVIL AVIATION (GEN. (DR) V. K. SINGH (RETD))

(a) to (c): The upgradation/ modernisation of airports, including provision of night landing facility, is a continuous process and is undertaken by Airports Authority of India (AAI) and other airport operators from time to time depending on the availability of land, commercial viability, socioeconomic considerations, traffic demand / willingness of airlines to operate to/from such airports etc.

Presently, night landing facility, which is purely demand and need based on operational requirement of airlines and availability of land, is not available at 25 operational airports with scheduled flight operations as indicated in the Annexure. (d): AAI has undertaken installation of night landing facility at Kolhapur airport. A team of Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGCA) has carried out the inspection of the airport on 10th June, 2022. AAI has already initiated action for compliance of the observations made by DGCA during the inspection.

* * * * * *

Annexure referred to in parts (a) to (d) of Rajya Sabha Unstarred Question No. 803 for 25.07.2022

Operational	Airports	with	Scheduled	flight	operations	without	night	landing
facility:								

S. No.	State	Name of the airport			
1.	Andhra Pradesh	Cudappah			
2.		Kurnool			
3.	Assam	Rupsi			
4.	Arunachal Pradesh	Tezu			
5.		Passighat			
6.	Chhattisgarh	Bilaspur			
7.		Jagdalpur			
8.	Daman & Diu	Diu			
9.	Gujarat	Keshod			
10.	Haryana	Hisar			
11.	Himachal Pradesh	Dharamshala			
12.		Kullu			
13.		Shimla			
14.	Jharkhand	Deoghar			
15.	Karnataka	Kalaburagi			
16.	Lakshadweep	Agatti			
17.	Maharashtra	Kolhapur			
18.		Sindhudurg			
19.	Punjab	Ludhiana			
20.	Puducherry	Puducherry			
21.	Sikkim	Pakyong			
22.	Tamil Nadu	Salem			
23.	Uttarakhand	Pantnagar			
24.]	Pithoragarh			
25.	Uttar Pradesh	Kushinagar			