GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF PORTS, SHIPPING AND WATERWAYS RAJYA SABHA

STARRED QUESTION NO-*165 ANSWERED ON – 06/08/2024

PORT OPERATIONS AND PRIVATIZATION

165. SHRI G.C. CHANDRASHEKHAR:

Will the Minister of PORTS, SHIPPING AND WATERWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the operation and maintenance of berths/terminals at all ports nation-wide is conducted through Public-private partnership (PPP);
- (b) if so, the details thereof, including the number of ports operated by Government and private sector; and
- (c) the specifics of ports privatized in the past three years?

ANSWER

MINISTER OF PORTS, SHIPPING AND WATERWAYS (SHRI SARBANANDA SONOWAL)

(a) to (c) A statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) to (c) OF RAJYA SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO.*165 ANSWERED ON 6th AUGUST, 2024 RAISED BY SHRI G. C. CHANDRASHEKHAR REGARDING "PORT OPERATION AND PRIVATIZATION".

(a) to (c) There are 12 major Ports under the Central Government *viz*. the Major Ports of Chennai, Cochin, Deendayal (Kandla), Jawaharlal Nehru (Nhava Sheva), Kolkata, Mormugao, Mumbai, New Mangalore, Paradip, V.O.Chidambaranar (Tuticorin), Visakhapatnam and Kamarajar Port Limited. No Major Port in the country has been privatised as the ownership of the land and waterfront remains with the Government. Private Sector Participation has been allowed in these Major Ports on Public Private Partnership (PPP) basis for projects/berths/terminals through concession agreement for a fix tenure by way of open competitive bidding process on revenue share/royalty payment by the concessionaire. After the concession period gets over the port asset is handed over to the Port Authority. In the Major Ports, out of 277 berths, 89 berths have been given on PPP mode. There are 217 non-major ports managed by/under the control of the respective State Maritime Board/State Government [Gujarat - 48, Maharashtra - 48, Goa-5, Daman & Diu - 2, Karnataka - 13, Kerala - 17, Lakshadweep Islands - 10, Tamil Nadu -17, Puduchery - 3, Andhra Pradesh - 15, Odisha-14, West Bengal - 1, and Andaman & Nicobar Islands - 24].
