Demand for increasing road infrastructure under the PMGSY scheme

SHRI NIRANJAN BISHI (Odisha): Sir, hon. ex-Chief Minister of Odisha, Shri Naveen Patnaik had raised concern over the inadequate financial support from the Central Government in the field of road connectivity and infrastructure development of Odisha. Despite numerous projects announced by the Government of India including initiative for the construction of national highways and roads to enhance road connectivity, minimum progress has been made in confirming these commitments into tangible results.

In addition to that, there has been a noticeable decline in the length of road construction under the Pradhan Mantri Gram Sadak Yojana (PMGSY), a Centrally-funded scheme over the years posing significant challenges to the road infrastructure of Odisha. In response to these challenges, the then Odisha Government led by our ex-Chief Minister, Shri Naveen Patnaik, had initiated projects such as the State Highway Development Programme and Biju Expressway Yojana providing financial assistance for road construction. Moreover, the State Government led by our ex-Chief Minister, Shri Naveen Patnaik, had earmarked funds for additional schemes aimed at transforming rural infrastructure. However, despite these endeavours, there remained a pressing need for increased intervention from the Government of India.

Therefore, through you, Sir, I respectfully urge upon the Government of India to scrutinize this matter and allocate funds and assistance immediately to ensure timely completion and enhancement of the road infrastructure, Pradhan Mantri Gram Sadak Yojana in the State of Odisha. This proactive intervention is crucial for addressing the deteriorating condition of roads and fostering overall economic and social development in the State of Odisha.

MR. DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: The following hon. Members associated themselves with the matter raised by the hon. Member, Shri Niranjan Bishi: Shri A. A. Rahim (Kerala), Dr. V. Sivadasan (Kerala), Shrimati Mamata Mohanta (Odisha), Shri Jawhar Sircar (West Bengal), Dr. Sasmit Patra (Odisha), Shri R. Girirajan (Tamil Nadu), Shri P. Wilson (Tamil Nadu), Shri Sujeet Kumar (Odisha), Shrimati Mausam Noor (West Bengal), Shri Jose K. Mani (Kerala), Dr. John Brittas (Kerala) and Dr. Fauzia Khan (Maharashtra).

Now Shri Ajit Kumar Bhuyan; 'Concern over navigational clearance in Brahmaputra river'.