## [RAJYA SABHA]

addressing this issue. Therefore, Sir, through you, I respectfully request the Central Government to take requisite measures expeditiously to supply fertilizers to Odisha.

THE VICE-CHAIRMAN (DR. SASMIT PATRA): The following Members associated themselves with the Special Mention made by hon. Member, Shri Niranjan Bishi: Shrimati Sulata Deo (Odisha), Dr. V. Sivadasan (Kerala), Shri A.A. Rahim (Kerala), Dr. John Brittas (Kerala), Shri M. Mohamed Abdulla (Tamil Nadu), Dr. Kanimozhi NVN Somu (Tamil Nadu), Shri Muzibulla Khan (Odisha) and Shri Subhasish Khuntia (Odisha).

## Concern over increase in Anti-microbial resistance in India

SHRI S NIRANJAN REDDY (Andhra Pradesh): Sir, the Antimicrobial Resistance (AMR) is a growing problem in India with an increase of 5 to 10 percent in resistance levels for broad-spectrum antibiotics. Factors such as indiscriminate use of antibiotics, easy over-the-counter availability and the misuse of strong antibiotic-based treatment for common infections are exacerbating the AMR crisis. Treatment of infectious diseases like E.Coli and K.pneumonia has become exceptionally challenging due to the resistance to antibiotics like Imipenem. According to a WHO report, India ranks high in multidrug-resistant tuberculosis (MDR-TB) and drug-resistant typhoid cases, posing immense difficulties in effective treatment due to the emergence of AMR. The ICMR Report also flags this as a major concern.

The new Action Plan 2.0 for AMR is pending finalisation and may have to be unveiled expeditiously to tackle this problem. Prominent medical professionals have warned that AMR in India has the potential to trigger the next epidemic. Failure to address this issue urgently will result in severe consequences, including prolonged hospital stays, escalated treatment expenses, heightened post-treatment healthcare costs, and, most importantly, a grave threat to human life. Thus, I request the Central Government to swiftly prioritize and implement decisive measures to combat AMR with utmost urgency.

THE VICE-CHAIRMAN (DR. SASMIT PATRA): The following Members associated themselves with the Special Mention made by hon. Member, Shri S. Niranjan Reddy: Shri Niranjan Bishi (Odisha), Shri Jawhar Sircar (West Bengal), Shri Haris Beeran (Kerala), Shrimati Sulata Deo (Odisha), Dr. V. Sivadasan (Kerala), Shri A.A. Rahim (Kerala), Shri M. Mohamed Abdulla (Tamil Nadu), Dr. Kanimozhi NVN Somu (Tamil Nadu), Dr. John Brittas (Kerala) and Shri R. Girirajan (Tamil Nadu).