अतः मैं आपके माध्यम से सरकार से अनुरोध करती हूँ कि इस महल की मरम्मत और रखरखाव का कार्य जल्द किया जाए और एक समिति द्वारा इस स्थल की स्थिति का मूल्यांकन कर विशेष धन राशि का आवंटन किया जाए ताकि यह कार्य जल्दी संपन्न हो सके।

THE VICE-CHAIRPERSON (SHRIMATI S. PHANGNON KONYAK): The following hon. Members associated themselves with the Special Mention raised by the hon. Member, Dr. Medha Vishram Kulkarni: Dr. Sasmit Patra (Odisha), Dr. Kanimozhi NVN Somu (Tamil Nadu), Shri P. Wilson (Tamil Nadu), Shri M. Mohamed Abdulla (Tamil Nadu), and Shri Dhananjay Bhimrao Mahadik (Maharashtra).

Now, hon. Member, Shri Satnam Singh Sandhu — not present. Next, hon. Member, Shri Abdul Wahab.

The issue of Life and Medical Insurance and Public Sector Insurance Companies

SHRI ABDUL WAHAB (Kerala): Thank you, Madam, for giving me an opportunity to speak. I urge the Government to take following steps in the best interests of the people and the industry: First is removal of GST on Life and Medical Insurance Premiums. Presently, both life and medical insurance premiums attract a GST rate of 18 percentage, be withdrawn in the interest of the people and the industry.

Second is about re-introduction of Income tax deduction for health insurance premium. The deduction allowed under section 80 (D) towards health insurance premium has been discontinued in the new tax regime.

Third is about consolidation of Public Sector general insurance companies. The Public Sector general insurance companies have been recording reasonably good performance in spite of myriad challenges confronting them. There is an opinion of merit that these companies be merged into a single entity to form a single corporation so that they derive the economies of scale. I would like to request the Ministry of Finance to consider these important subjects and take a favourable decision on these suggestions. Thank you.

THE VICE-CHAIRPERSON (SHRIMATI S. PHANGNON KONYAK): The following hon. Members associated themselves with the Special Mention made by the hon. Member, Shri Abdul Wahab: Dr. John Brittas (Kerala), Dr. Sasmit Patra (Odisha), Shri P.P. Suneer (Kerala), Shri Haris Beeran (Kerala), Dr. Kanimozhi NVN Somu, (Tamil Nadu), Dr. V. Sivadasan (Kerala), Shri M. Mohamed Abdulla, (Tamil Nadu), Shrimati Jebi Mather Hisham, (Kerala) and Shrimati Sulata Deo (Odisha).

Now, hon. Member, Dr. Bhim Singh.