बाढ़ के प्रकोप से मानव जीवन, भूमि और संपत्ति की रक्षा के लिए प्रभावी बाढ़ प्रबंधन कार्य की आवश्यकता है।

THE VICE-CHAIRPERSON (MS. KAVITA PATIDAR): The following hon. Members associated themselves with the Special Mention made by hon. Member, Shri Naresh Bansal: Shri A.A. Rahim (Kerala), Dr. John Brittas (Kerala), Dr. Sasmit Patra (Odisha) and Dr. Kanimozhi NVN Somu (Tamil Nadu).

## Need to address the issues faced by Agricultural Workers

DR. V. SIVADASAN (Kerala): Madam, agricultural and rural workers of India constitute the most deprived and marginalized classes in our society. They are suffering from low wages, lack of social security, lack of proper health care, malnutrition and lack of educational opportunities for their children. The agricultural workers, who are unable to work due to old age, are left with no support from the Government. Sir, there is a need to ensure that agricultural workers get a monthly pension of minimum 5000/- rupees and the funds for this money should be transferred to the States by the Union Government. There is a need to ensure that universal and free quality healthcare is provided to the agricultural workers. As per the NCRB data, the suicides among farm labourers is increasing and this shows the increase in rural distress. The report showed that in 2021, 5,563 farm labourers have committed suicide. This number has increased to 6,083 in 2022. This is the result of low wages and lack of employment opportunities for the rural poor. There is an urgent need to increase the amount allocated for employment guarantee schemes and strengthen social security.

I urge the Government to take steps to ensure that the right to a dignified life of the agricultural workers is protected. Thank you, Madam.

THE VICE-CHAIRPERSON (MS. KAVITA PATIDAR): The following hon. Members associated themselves with the Special Mention made by hon. Member, Dr. V. Sivadasan: Shri Niranjan Bishi (Odisha), Shri M. Mohamed Abdulla (Tamil Nadu), Shri A.A. Rahim (Kerala), Shri R. Girirajan (Tamil Nadu), Shrimati Jebi Mather Hisham (Kerala), Shri Sandosh Kumar P (Kerala), Shri M. Shanmugam (Tamil Nadu), Dr. Kanimozhi NVN Somu (Tamil Nadu), Shri P.P. Suneer (Kerala), Dr. Sasmit Patra (Odisha) and Dr. John Brittas (Kerala).

Now, hon. Member Shri Brijlal.