## Concern over the privatisation of Biju Patnaik International Airport in Bhubaneswar, Odisha

SHRI NIRANJAN BISHI (Odisha): Thank you, hon. Deputy Chairman, Sir, for giving me permission to raise a matter of urgent public importance. Sir, I would like to draw the attention of the Government of India and this august House to the proposed On 17<sup>th</sup> privatisation of Biju Patnaik International Airport in Bhubaneswar, Odisha. April 1962, the airport was dedicated to the people of Odisha and to the people of the nation. The Government of India accorded international status to the airport on 30<sup>th</sup> October 2013 and named it 'Biju Patnaik International Airport' after our legendary leader, former Chief Minister, freedom fighter, aviator, late Biju Patnaik ji. Forty-three flights are being operated from Biju Patnaik International Airport every day to 24 destinations in India and abroad. Biju Patnaik International Airport handles over 4.6 million passengers every year. And profit exceeds to grow to 35 per cent. The Biju Patnaik International Airport is a profit-making airport in India. And it is eighth most profit making airport out of total 102 airports in our country. So, proposed privatisation of Biju Patnaik International Airport after 62 years of successful operation is a matter of great concern. For whose interest? The State Government has not yet been consulted. The State Government has not given any consent. The people of Odisha have not given their consent. And by privatisation, the people of Odisha, the passengers particularly of Odisha, will lose everything. Odisha is SC/ST dominated State and they will not get job opportunities in Biju Patnaik International Airport. So, I urge the Government to stop privatisation of Biju Patnaik International Airport for the larger interest of the people of Odisha. Thank you.

MR. DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: The following hon. Members associated themselves with the Zero Hour matter raised by the hon. Member, Shri Niranjan Bishi: Dr. John Brittas (Kerala), Shrimati Mahua Maji (Jharkhand), Shri Saket Gokhale (West Bengal), Shri P. Wilson (Tamil Nadu), Shri Jawhar Sircar (West Bengal), Dr. V. Sivadasan (Kerala), Shrimati Sulata Deo (Odisha), Shri M. Mohamed Abdulla (Tamil Nadu), Dr. Kanimozhi NVN Somu (Tamil Nadu), Dr. Sasmit Patra (Odisha), Ms. Sushmita Dev (West Bengal), Shri Muzibulla Khan (Odisha) and Shri Debashish Samantaray (Odisha).

## Concern over gender disparity in access to public conveniences/utilities

SHRIMATI PRIYANKA CHATURVEDI (Maharashtra): Sir, thank you so much for