THE VICE-CHAIRPERSON (MS. KAVITA PATIDAR): The following hon. Members associated themselves with the Special Mention made by hon. Member, Shri Manoj Kumar Jha: Shri M. Mohamed Abdulla (Tamil Nadu), Shri P. Wilson (Tamil Nadu), Shri Haris Beeran (Kerala), Shrimati Jebi Mather Hisham (Kerala), Shri Abdul Wahab (Kerala), Shri M. Shanmugam (Tamil Nadu), Dr. John Brittas (Kerala), Dr. Kanimozhi NVN Somu (Tamil Nadu) and Dr. Sasmit Patra (Odisha).

Demand for adequate budgetary allocation for ensuring safety of mining workers

SHRI NIRANJAN BISHI (Odisha): Odisha has one of the highest coal reserves in the country at 48,572.58 million tonnes (measured) and 34,080.42 million tonnes (indicated), which increases the importance of ensuring the safety of the mining workers. However, in spite of the urgency of the matter, the budget for the Ministry of Coal has been declining for the past two years. It has fallen down to Rs. 547.88 crores (Revised Estimates) in 2022-23. Under-utilisation of funds is another cause of concern, reflective in how the utilisation of funds during the financial year 2021-22 was Rs. 360.97 crores (up to December, 2021) against the allocation of Rs. 644.09 crores at RE stage. Mining is an extremely hazardous profession and disasters in this area cause grave threat to human life and loss of economic resources. Inundation is a factor that is leading to a greater number of disasters in mines. Disasters occur at regular intervals. Fatalities due to roof collapse and dumpers at coal mines are major issues that need to be tackled for greater safety. Another cause of concern is the lack of detailed emergency rescue plan.

Training of personnel, implementation of Standard Operating Procedure, etc., need to be emphasized. Training is required to minimise human error. Madam, through you, I urge the Central Government to take its cognisance and provide adequate funding for research and infrastructure development among other processes and ensure proper mechanism for safety for mining workers.

THE VICE-CHAIRPERSON (MS. KAVITA PATIDAR): The following hon. Members associated themselves with the Special Mention made by the hon. Member, Shri Niranjan Bishi: Dr. John Brittas (Kerala), Shri M. Mohamed Abdulla (Tamil Nadu), Shrimati Jebi Mather Hisham (Kerala), Shri Sandosh Kumar P (Kerala), Dr. Sasmit Patra (Odisha), Shri Sujeet Kumar (Odisha), Shri A.A. Rahim (Kerala), Shrimati Sulata Deo (Odisha), Shri Subhasish Khuntia (Odisha), Shri Muzibulla Khan (Odisha) and Dr. Kanimozhi NVN Somu (Tamil Nadu).