Malayalam speakers was eventually formed. But the First Schedule to the Constitution used the name Kerala instead of Keralam. Last year also, the State Government had submitted the same demand to the Central Government. However, the Union Home Ministry reviewed the Kerala Government's resolution and recommended some technical modifications. Since independence, many states, cities and districts have changed their names in tune with the rising demands of the people. Uttaranchal became Uttarakhand in 2007; Orissa was renamed Odisha in 2011. Bombay was renamed Mumbai; and Madras became Chennai. Hence, the Central Government can take steps to change the name of Kerala to Keralam as well. I strongly demand that the Government should take proactive steps to alter the name of the state to Keralam at the earliest.

MR. DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: The following hon. Members associated themselves with the Special Mention made by the hon. Member, Shri Sandosh Kumar P: Dr. John Brittas (Kerala), Shri Jose K. Mani (Kerala), Shri M. Shanmugam (Tamil Nadu), Dr. Sasmit Patra (Odisha), Shri M. Mohamed Abdulla (Tamil Nadu), Shri A.A. Rahim (Kerala), Dr. V. Sivadasan (Kerala) and Shri K.R.N. Rajeshkumar (Tamil Nadu).

Concern over delay in completion of National Highway projects and its poor maintenance in Odisha

SHRI MUZIBULLA KHAN (Odisha): The situation of National Highways (NHs) in Odisha is currently dire, characterized by significant delays in NH projects and their poor maintenance. One prominent example is the Cuttack-Sambalpur National Highway project, which has become a source of immense frustration and inconvenience for the people of Odisha.

Many NH projects in Odisha are experiencing massive delays, leading to prolonged construction periods and disrupted traffic flow. This not only impacts commuters but also affects businesses and local economies dependent on smooth transport routes.

The maintenance of existing NHs in Odisha is substandard, with potholes, uneven surfaces, and inadequate signage posing serious safety hazards for motorists. This lack of upkeep contributes to increased accidents and travel discomfort. The Cuttack-Sambalpur NH project exemplifies these issues, where incomplete construction, frequent roadblocks, and unclear timelines have caused

significant hardships for residents and travelers alike. The prolonged nature of this project has disrupted daily routines, hampered logistics, and increased travel costs.

I urge the Government to ensure proper maintenance of National Highways in Odisha.

MR. DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: The following hon. Members associated themselves with the Special Mention made by the hon. Member, Shri Muzibulla Khan: Dr. John Brittas (Kerala), Dr. Sasmit Patra (Odisha), Shri M. Mohamed Abdulla (Tamil Nadu), Dr. V. Sivadasan (Kerala) and Shri A.A. Rahim (Kerala).

Need to expedite track-doubling project in the Villupuram-Thanjavur mainline section of Southern Railway

SHRI M. SHANMUGAM (Tamil Nadu): Sir, the people of Thanjavur delta are demanding for the track-doubling project in the Villupuram-Thanjavur mainline section via Mayiladuthurai and Kumbakonam. This line will be passing through popular tourist and religious destinations like Chidambaram, Vaitheeswaran Koil, Mayiladuthurai and Kumbakonam. The main line is an old line and is already saturated though the passenger traffic and goods traffic has increased. The project is pending for a long time.

The survey for the whole project is already completed and I assure the Railways that this line being a busy line and giving good occupancy in passenger traffic, they will get good return.

I would therefore urge upon the hon. Minister of Railways and the hon. Minister of Finance to make adequate budgetary allocations for this doubling project work so that the work can be started at the earliest and the project would be operational in the near future.

MR. DEPUTY CHAIRMAN: The following hon. Members associated themselves with the Special Mention made by the hon. Member, Shri M. Shanmugam: Dr. John Brittas (Kerala), Shri M. Mohamed Abdulla (Tamil Nadu), Dr. Sasmit Patra (Odisha), Dr. Kanimozhi NVN Somu (Tamil Nadu), Dr. V. Sivadasan (Kerala), Shri A.A. Rahim (Kerala), Shri R. Girirajan (Tamil Nadu), Shri Sandosh Kumar P (Kerala), Shrimati Jebi Mather Hisham (Kerala) and Shri K.R.N. Rajeshkumar (Tamil Nadu).