## LEAVE OF ABSENCE

MR. CHAIRMAN: Hon. Members, I have to inform you that letters have been received from hon. Members, Dr. Dharmasthala Veerendra Heggade and Shri Vaiko for grant of Leave of Absence from 22<sup>nd</sup> July, 2024 to 5<sup>th</sup> August, 2024, and from 22<sup>nd</sup> July, 2024 to 12<sup>th</sup> August, 2024, respectively. Dr. Dharmasthala Veerendra Heggade has sought Leave of Absence on personal reasons while Shri Vaiko has sought Leave of Absence on medical grounds.

Do they have the permission of the House for remaining absent for the duration of leave which they have sought?

(No hon. Member dissented.)

MR. CHAIRMAN: Permission to remain absent is granted.

## MOTION FOR ELECTION TO THE COMMITTEE ON WELFARE OF OTHER BACKWARD CLASSES

MR. CHAIRMAN: Dr. L. Murugan to move a Motion for election of ten Members to the Committee on Welfare of Other Backward Classes.

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PARLIAMENTARY AFFAIRS (DR. L. MURUGAN): Sir, I move the following Motion:

"That this House concurs in the recommendation of the Lok Sabha that a Committee of both the Houses to be called the 'Committee on Welfare of Other Backward Classes (OBCs)' be constituted for the purposes set out in the Motion adopted by the Lok Sabha at its sitting held on 1<sup>st</sup> July, 2024 and communicated to this House, and resolves that this House do join in the said Committee and proceed to elect, in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote, ten Members from amongst the Members of this House to serve on the said Committee.

The question was put and the motion was adopted.