RAJYA SABHA

and jewellery, chemicals and allied sector have also been announced in the Medium Term Export Strategy.

- * RBI in its Mid-term review of monetary and credit policy for 2002-03 has announced measures for imparting flexibility in the repayment of export credit and to increase flow of credit to export sector.
- * The Government has announced schemes like Assistance to States for Infrastructure Development for Exports (ASIDE), establishing of Agriculture export zones, strengthening of Market Access Initiative (MAI) ane Special Economic Zones (SEZs) to boost exports.

Assistance to State Governments for setting up SEZs

1794. SHRI. CO. POULOSE: SHRI PRASANTA CHATTERJEE:

Will the Minister of COMMERCE AND INDUSTRY be pleased to state:

(a) whether Government have given assistance to the State Governments for setting up Special Export Zones in the country;

(b) if so, the number of zones intended to be set up. State-wise:

(c) whether Government have received any request from the Government of Kerala for Central assistance in this regard; and

(d) if so, the action taken by Government thereon?

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COMMERCE AND INDUSTRY (SHRI RAJIV PRATAP RUDY): (a) and (b) So far, the Central Government has not given any assistance to the State Governments for setting up Sepecial Economic Zones (SEZs) in the country. State-wise list of SEZs approved to be set up is enclosed as Statement {See below}.

- (c) No, Sir.
- (d) Does not arise.

[9 December, 2002]

RAJYA SABHA

Statement

SI. No	. Location	Name of the promoter
1.	Visakhapatnam (Andhra Pradesh)	Govt, of Andhra Pradesh
2.	Kakinada (Andhra Pradesh)	Kakinada Seaports Ltd.
3.	Positra (Gujarat)	Gujarat Positra Port Infrastructural Ltd.
4.	Vallarpadam/Puthuvypeen (Kerala)	Cochin Port Trust
5.	Hassan (Kamataka)	Govt, of Kamataka
6.	Navi-Mumbai	City and Industrial Development
	(Maharashtra)	Corporation of Maharashtra Ltd. (CIDCO)
7.	Khopta (Maha Mumbai) (Maharashtra)	Gujarat Positra Port Infrastructural Ltd.
8.	Indore (Madhya Pradesh)	Madhya Pradesh State Industrial Development Corporation Ltd.
9.	Paradeep (Orissa)	Govt, of Orissa
10.	Gopalpur (Orissa)	Govt, of Orissa
11.	Nangunery (Tamil Nadu)	Govt, of Tamil Nadu
12.	Bhadohi (Uttar Pradesh)	Govt, of Uttar Pradesh
13.	Kanpur (Uttar Pradesh)	Govt, of Uttar Pradesh
14.	Greater Noida (Uttar Pradesh)	Govt, of Uttar Pradesh
15.	Muradabad (Uttar Pradesh)	Govt, of Uttar Pradesh
16.	Kulpi (West Bengal)	Govt, of West Bengal
17.	Salt Lake, Kolkata (West Bengal)	Govt, of West Bengal

List of Special Economic Zones approved for establishment

69